Bafana beat Guinea-Bissau


Bafana Bafana bettered the mark of 15 games without defeat, which ended en-route to their sole African Nations Cup triumph on home soil in 1996.

Bafana striker Kermit Erasmus marked his return to the national team with a successful 35th minute penalty after Thulani Serero went down in the box under a challenge from Rudinilson.

Percy Tau made it 2-0 on debut [discounting CHAN outings] with a clinical finish in the 69th minute, moments after replacing Erasmus.

Fellow substitute Aldair Balde pulled one back in the 78th minute after being teed up by the lively Toni Brito, but Andile Jali converted another spotkick in the closing stages before going off with a suspected dislocated shoulder.

The visitors threatened early on, but Brito failed to pull the trigger when released on goal as Bafana captain Itumeleng Khune did just enough to put him off.

Both sides showed bright touches at times, as Khune watched a long-range shot flash narrowly wide of his goal midway through the first stanza.

Bafana attacker Keagan Dolly then released Erasmus in the final third, but Rudinilson got back to make a superb tackle in the box.

However, Erasmus was not to be denied soon after from the spot for his second international goal at the venue in 12 appearances.

Serero could have made it 2-0 just before the interval but inexplicably passed the ball away with a back-heel with just the keeperĀ Papa Mabaye to beat from close range.

Erasmus tried his luck early into the second period as he drilled a long-range shot straight at Mabaye.

Bafana interim coach Owen da Gama made some changes around the hour-mark, bringing on Jali, Tau and Lebogang Manyama for Themba Zwane, Erasmus and the impressive Kamohelo Mokotjo.

Mamelodi Sundowns star Tau announced his presence straight away, earning a caution before rifling the ball home on the angle following a pass from ex-Brazilians teammate Dolly.

Balde converted a pass from Brito soon after, but Jali made it 3-1 from the spot in the 89th minute after Hlompho Kekana was fouled in the box.

Da Gama's charges will next host Angola in East London on Tuesday as part of their preparations for AFCON and World Cup qualifiers.

SAFA are set to name former coach Shakes Mashaba's permanent successor after the matches.

Itumeleng Khune (GK) (c), Ramahlwe Mphahlele, Tebogo Langerman, Thulani Hlatshwayo, Erick Mathoho, Kamohelo Mokotjo (Manyama 65'), Dean Furman, Keagan Dolly (Mnyamane 80'), Themba Zwane (Jali 58'/Mabunda 90'), Thulani Serero (Kekana 81'), Kermit Erasmus (Tau 65').

Unused Subs:
Darren Keet (GK), Rivaldo Coetzee, Lorenzo Gordino, Diamond Thopola, Lars Veldwijk, Luther Singh.

Walters (GK) and Mahlambi.

Guinea-Bissau XI: Mabaye, Rudinilson, Soares Dabo, Lopes, Da Silva, Camara, Mendes Soares, Marinho Soares, Brito, Agostinho, Piqueti.