Mendy's Yashin Trophy snub slammed

World News

A Manchester United legend has slammed the decision to award Gianluigi Donnarumma the Yashin Trophy ahead of Edouard Mendy, claiming that the goalkeeper being African played a role in the outcome.  

On Monday night, the Italy goalkeeper walked away with France Football's prestigious Goalkeeper of the Year award after winning the 2020 UEFA European Championship with his nation in July.  

Scroll through the gallery above to see all the Chelsea players who were nominated for an award on Monday night

Chelsea star Mendy missed out on the award despite achieving the impressive feat of being the goalkeeper with the most clean sheets in his debut UEFA Champions League campaign last season, while he was also the first African shot-stopper to not concede in a UCL final, according to Tribuna 

Patrice Evra has since taken to Instagram to suggest that the decision to not give the award to the Senegal international was in some way related to him being African. 

Read: CR7 'backs' claim Messi stole Ballon d'Or

"Also the goalkeeper... what about Edouard Mendy?" the former Red Devils left-back asked, per The Sun. 

"You know, but of course, African Cup, we are the monkeys so no one respects this competition. 

"We are the only competition where you have to leave your club, leave for three weeks and play that cup because in Africa we always have a little space. 

"But things will change, things will change."

The Blues 'keeper finished second behind Donnarumma for the Yashin Trophy, while Atletico Madrid's Jan Oblak came third. 

Here are all the award winners from the 2021 Ballon d'Or awards ceremony, as well as the top 10 for the men's prize

Ex-City boss to join Man Utd in 2022?

Lewandowski to get 2020 Ballon d'Or?

'Messi's Ballon d'Or win is undeserved!'