Bafana to meet Billiat & Co. in WCQ

SA National Teams

Bafana Bafana have discovered their opponents for the 2022 FIFA World Cup group phase qualifiers, following Tuesday night's draw in Cairo.

South Africa failed to qualify for the last two editions of the global spectacle, with their last appearance dating back to 2010 when it was hosted in Mzansi.

Molefi Ntseki's men were drawn in Group G alongside Zimbabwe, Ethiopia and Ghana, whom they also contest with for a place at the 2021 Africa Cup of Nations.

The group phase qualifiers will get underway in March this year, which is the first international break in 2020.

Only the group winners will advance to the final round of qualifying, where the 10 group winners will be drawn into five two-legged affairs to determine the five sides that will compete in Qatar.

2020 African WCQ groups in full:

Group A: Algeria, Burkina Faso, Niger, Djibouti,

Group B: Tunisia, Zambia, Mauritania, Equatorial Guinea,

Group C: Nigeria, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Liberia

Group D: Cameroon, Ivory Coast, Mozambique, Malawi

Group E: Mali, Uganda, Kenya, Rwanda

Group F: Egypt, Gabon, Libya, Angola

Group G: Ghana, South Africa, Zimbabwe, Ethiopia

Group H: Senegal, Congo, Namibia, Togo

Group I: Morocco, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Sudan

Group J: DR Congo, Benin, Madagascar, Tanzania