Khenza FC crowned Walter Sisulu champs

Thato Thebedi blasted the final kick into the goal post to give KFC a 5 - 4 victory after the nail biting and entertaining final match was locked at 0 – 0 at the 90 minute mark.

Both teams were making it to the final for the second time after having been participants in the tournament for over six years.

Earlier in the day, reigning champions Yarona Ladies FC demonstrated once again why they are the crowned favourites, when they beat Soweto All Stars Ladies FC 2 – 0 to clinch the women’s tittle for the third successive time.

Meanwhile,the Under 17 championship went to Bidboys FC following their 1 – 0 win over Pimville Cameroon FC.

Speaking at the end of the tournament, Discovery’s Experiential Marketing and Sponsorships Manager, Kristy Cunningham thanked both fans and the teams for making the 2016 edition of the tournament a great deal of success.

“It has been a long month of exceptional football. This year’s edition has once again shown that there is abundance of talent in this country.

Results of today’s finale also showcase the standard of football displayed at the Discovery Walter Sisulu Soccer Challenge.

A warm congratulations to Khenza FC, their hard work has paid off. We look forward to seeing more eKasi football in 2017.”

Soweto Football Association Chairman, Mr Phil Mogodi said the association is proud to be partnering with Discovery in what has been another successful Discovery Walter Sisulu Soccer Challenge campaign.

“Each year we challenge ourselves; to give our football loving fans a memorable football experience, I therefore believe today’s final lived up to all expectations. Scouts also came in numbers and I hope they were pleased to have found an overflowing pool of talented individuals to select from.”

The tournament kicked off on the 1st December 2016, in honour of the late liberation struggle hero, Walter Sisulu.

The top winners from the three categories walked away with R100, 000 (Main Category), R20, 000 (Under-17) and R15, 000 (Women) respectively.

Individual awards winners:

Main Category

o Goalkeeper of the tournament: Kagiso Mntambo (Khenza FC)

o Player of the tournament: Sivhungwane Roger (Dube Continental FC)

o Top goal scorer: Mosopa Ngozi (Soweto All Stars – 11 Goals)

Women Category

o Top goal scorer & Players of the tournament: Andisiwe MgCoyi (Yarona FC – 14 goals)