Bucs confirm top up of CAF squad

CAF Champions League

Pirates are just about halfway through their group stage campaign and have filled the remaining three spots left in their 30-man squad.

READ: PSL January transfer window round-up

The Buccaneers have added a fourth goalkeeper to their list, with Wayne Sandilands joining Siyabonga Mpontshane, Brilliant Khuzwayo and Jackson Mabokgwane.

Defender Thabo Matlaba, who was previously linked with an exit from the club, has also been added, along with midfielder Luvuyo Memela, who has recovered from a spate of injuries that has seen him earn minimal playing time this season.

Bucs administrative officer Floyd Mbele has since given insight into the decision to regster the trio.

“After extensive consultation with the technical team, I can confirm that we have registered the three players in question into the CAF Champions League squad,” he said in a club statement.

“As you already know, CAF allows clubs to register a total of 30 players for the competition and as a club we had decided to register only 27 players at the time as we felt this number was sufficient to get us through the preliminary stages of the competition which we did.

“Now that we have to juggle between a congested league season and traveling around the continent for the Champions League, it’s important that we have enough players in both competitions to allow the technical team enough depth to compete.”

Diamond Thopola and Augustine Mahlonoko remain unregistered and will play no part in Pirates' participation on the continent.

Milutin Sredojevic's charges will on Saturday face defending champions Esperance at Orlando Stadium as they look to maintain their standing atop Group B. Kick-off of the clash is set for 21h00.

Pirates full 2018/19 CAF squad:

Goalkeepers: Siyabonga Mpontshane, Jackson Mabokgwane, Brilliant Khuzwayo, Wayne Sandilands

Defenders: Happy Jele, Ntsikelelo Nyauza, Marshall Munetsi, Alfred Ndengane, Mthokozisi Dube, Abbubaker Mobara, Abel Mabaso, Asavela Mbekile, Innocent Maela, Paseka Mako, Caio Marcelo, Thabo Matlaba

Midfielders: Musa Nyatama, Xola Mlambo, Ben Motshwari, Mpho Makola, Linda Mntambo, Meshack Maphangule, Luvuyo Memela

Forwards: Thembinkosi Lorch, Augustine Mulenga, Thabo Qalinge, Vincent Pule, Justin Shonga, Thamsanqa Gabuza, Kudakwashe Mahachi