17 PSL stars in Zim AFCON squad


Zimbabwe have announced their 34-man preliminary squad for AFCON 2019 with a total of 17 PSL stars included ahead of the continental showpiece in Egypt.

While several players who are representing clubs in the top two tiers of South African football have been selected, a surprise inclusion is former Mamelodi Sundowns striker Nyasha Mushekwi.
The Chinese-based attacker last represented the Warriors in 2017 at the last AFCON in Gabon but has earned a recall with his overall record of 52 goals in 86 games for Dalian Yifang proving his ability as one of their most prolific options.
Kaizer Chiefs duo Khama Billiat and Teenage Hadebe have also earned the nod from head coach Sunday Chidzambwa - while Orlando Pirates also have two representatives.
Team manager Wellington Mpandare said Chidzambga had named an enlarged squad to cater for both the COSAFA tournament and the friendly match against the Super Eagles of Nigeria next month.
“We are going to play two matches at the Cosafa tournament and then 18 players will leave for Nigeria for the friendly match on June 8, while the rest remains in South Africa,” Mpandare told the New Age.
"Five players will then be picked to follow the 18 players in Nigeria to make a 23-member squad."
Zimbabwe 34-man squad in full:
Goalkeepers: George Chigova (Polokwane City), Edmore Sibanda (Witbank Spurs), Elvis Chipezeze (Baroka), Talbert Shumba (Chapungu)
Defenders: Dennis Dauda (Lusaka Dynamos), Lawrence Mhlanga (FC Platinum), Jimmy Dzingai (Power Dynamos), Byron Madzokere (Yadah Stars), Alec Mudimu (CEFN Druids), Teenage Hadebe (Kaizer Chiefs), Divine Lunga (Golden Arrows), Ronald Pfumbidzai (Bloemfontein Celtic), Tendai Darikwa (Nottingham Forest)
Midfielders: Danny Phiri (Golden Arrows), Marshall Munetsi (Orlando Pirates), Marvelous Nakamba (Club Brugge), Butholezwe Ncube (AmaZulu), Tafadzwa Kutinyu (Azam), Ovidy Karuru (AmaZulu), Khama Billiat (Kaizer Chiefs), Kudakwashe Mahachi (Orlando Pirates), Tafadzwa Rusike (Zanaco), Richard Hachiro (Herentals), Talent Chawapihwa (AmaZulu), Leeroy Mavunga (Yadah), Knowledge Musona (Lokeren), Thabani Kamusoko (Young Africans), Rodwell Chinyengetere (Baroka)
Forwards: Nyasha Mushekwi (Dalian Yifang), Evans Rusike (SuperSport United), Walter Musona (Polokwane City), Tinotenda Kadewere (Le Havre), Knox Mutizwa (Golden Arrows), Admiral Muskwe (Leicester City)