Maritzburg United

Match Centre

Next 3 Fixtures Venue
23/02 @ 20:00 vs Platinum Stars Harry Gwala
03/03 @ 18:00 vs SuperSport United Lucas Moripe Stadium
16/03 @ 20:00 vs Polokwane City Harry Gwala
Log Position
Pos Team P W D L +/- Pts
4 Free State Stars 21 9 6 6 1 33
5 Maritzburg United 21 8 7 6 12 31
6 Cape Town City 21 9 4 8 1 31
Top Scorers
  • Evans Rusike - 8
  • Andrea Fileccia - 4
  • Siphesihle Ndlovu - 3
  • Mohau Mokate - 3
  • Lebohang Maboe - 6
  • Deolin Mekoa - 4
  • Siphesihle Ndlovu - 4
  • Evans Rusike - 3
IN from notes
William Twala Kaizer Chiefs Loan
Bokang Tlhone Bidvest Wits
Yazid Atouba AS Vita
Siyanda Xulu Kaizer Chiefs Free
Rushine De Reuck Free transfer
OUT to notes
Evans Rusike SuperSport United
Devon Saal Released
Denis Weidlich Bidvest Wits
Virgil Vries Baroka FC
Bryce Moon Released
Full Transfer List

Coach: Fadlu Davids

Assistant Coach: Mahier Davids, Siyabonga Mdluli

Nickname: Team of Choice

Formed: Originally 1979 (revived in 2003 by current owners before buying Tembisa Classic’s Premier League status in 2005)

Physical address: 397 Victoria Road, Pietermaritzburg

Home ground: Harry Gwala Stadium, Pietermaritzburg

Tel: (033) 345 5666/7



Twitter: @MaritzburgUtd

Most starts: Shu-Aib Walters (143)

Most goals: Kurt Lentjies (26)

Most starts in a season: Shu-Aib Walters & Mario Booysen (2012/13)

Most goals in a season: 13 - Cuthbert Malajila (2012/13)

Record victory: 3-0 vs Ajax Cape Town (19/1/11, League)

Record defeat: 0-7 vs SuperSport United (14/10/11, League)

First Division Coastal Stream champions: 2007/08

First Division Championship play-offs winners: 2008


Positions are recorded at the end of the day when a match was played. Subsequent matches in the league may have caused the current position to change.

To see which club was played against, hover over the position marker on the chart.

Maritzburg United - First Team Squad


Richard Ofori
Squad Number: 0
Nationality: Ghana
Bongani Mpandle
Squad Number: 31
Nationality: South Africa
Jethren Barr
Squad Number: 46
Nationality: South Africa


Rushine De Reuck
Squad Number: 0
Nationality: South Africa
Bevan Fransman
Squad Number: 16
Nationality: South Africa
Keorapetse Molete
Squad Number: 28
Nationality: South Africa
Pogiso Sanoka
Squad Number: 32
Nationality: South Africa
Brian Onyango
Squad Number: 2
Nationality: Kenya
Bokang Tlhone
Squad Number: 24
Nationality: South Africa
Kwanda Mngonyama
Squad Number: 45
Nationality: South Africa
Siyanda Xulu
Squad Number: 5
Nationality: South Africa


Siphesihle Ndlovu
Squad Number: 37
Nationality: South Africa
Bandile Shandu
Squad Number: 26
Nationality: South Africa
Blessing Moyo
Squad Number: 6
Nationality: Zimbabwe
William Twala
Squad Number: 7
Nationality: South Africa
Mondli Dlamini
Squad Number: 38
Nationality: South Africa
Sheldon van Wyk
Squad Number: 12
Nationality: South Africa
Motsie Matima
Squad Number: 0
Nationality: South Africa
Yazid Atouba
Squad Number: 0
Nationality: Cameroon
Lebohang Maboe
Squad Number: 15
Nationality: South Africa
Liam Youlley
Squad Number: 0
Nationality: Australia
Fortune Makaringe
Squad Number: 13
Nationality: South Africa
Mxolisi Kunene
Squad Number: 36
Nationality: South Africa
Deolin Mekoa
Squad Number: 28
Nationality: South Africa


Luyanda Ntshangase
Squad Number: 34
Nationality: South Africa
Andrea Fileccia
Squad Number: 9
Nationality: Belgium
Mohau Mokate
Squad Number: 22
Nationality: South Africa