Related News

Related Club News

Varsity Football promises to produce some exciting action

Posted: 12 July 2018 Time: 08:30

The sixth edition of Varsity Football will see University of Limpopo (UL) making a return, while University of KwaZulu-Natal (UKZN) are set to appear for the first time.

UL were relegated from the competition in 2014, but have bounced back in 2018. UKZN, meanwhile, qualified by winning the 2018 USSA Games.

Varsity Football manager Xhanti-Lomzi Nesi is excited to have UL and UKZN in this year’s competition.

“We congratulate first-time qualifier UKZN and the returning UL for their promotion to Varsity Football. The two teams represent football-mad regions and we are excited about what they will bring to the table.”

“The support of our sponsors has been imperative to the success of this tournament. With the support of FNB, Debonairs Pizza and Samsung we can produce a world-class tournament, with its own style and detail.”

The competition also features University of Pretoria, who have won three of the five editions of the competition, while University of Western Cape and Tshwane University of Technology have one title each.

The competition will kick off with North-West University taking on University of Western Cape at Mafikeng Stadium on July 26 (16h00).

On the same day, University of Pretoria will host Tshwane University of Technology at 18h15, University of Johannesburg will host University of Limpopo at their Soweto campus at 18h15, while University of KwaZulu-Natal will play their first ever Varsity Football match at home to Wits University at 18h30.

Selected games will be televised live throughout the season on SuperSport Channels 204 and 210.

Varsity Football will also include women. 

Eight teams competing in Varsity Football 2018:

NWU (North-West University)

UJ (University of Johannesburg)

Wits (Wits University)

TUT (Tshwane University of Technology)

UP-Tuks (University of Pretoria)

UWC (University of the Western Cape)

UL (University of Limpopo)

UKZN (University of KwaZulu-Natal)

Eight teams competing in Varsity Women’s Football:

UJ (University of Johannesburg)

UKZN (University of KwaZulu-Natal)

UFS (University of Free State)

WSU (Walter Sisulu University)

Uni Zulu (University of Zululand)

UWC (University of the Western Cape)

UP-Tuks (University of Pretoria)

TUT (Tshwane University of Technology)

Article by: Staff Reporter
Terms of use:

The comments posted do not reflect the views of Users are reminded that no misuse of this comment facility will be tolerated. Any abusive, racist, inflammatory, defamatory, discriminatory comments or hate speech will be deleted and the user banned.

If legally obliged we will hand over your information under the Protection of Information Act.

Please report abusive posts to