Related News

Related Club News

Nigeria's John Obi Mikel furious after 'clear handball' by match-winner Marcus Rojo ignored after VAR

Posted: 27 June 2018 Time: 09:30

Nigeria captain John Obi Mikel has blasted officials for not acknowledging a 'clear handball' in their late 2-1 defeat to Argentina that eliminated them from the 2018 FIFA World Cup.

John Obi Mikel believes the Super Eagles were denied blatant penalty against Argentina, after the ball struck defender Marcus Rojo, shortly before he netted a dramatic late winner in St Petersberg.

The African giants looked poised for a last-16  berth of Russia 2018 after responding positively to an early opener from Lionel Messi.

Victor Moses restored parity after coolly slotting home from the penalty spot, but could have been given the chance to put the game beyond doubt from 12 yards had the match officials not waved away the handball protests.

"I don't understand how that wasn't a penalty, for me it was a clear handball," he said, according to FourFourTwo.

"It was a clear penalty. Maybe the referee has given the first penalty and doesn't want to give a second one.

"But a penalty is a penalty. He (the referee) looked at the VAR, (we asked him) did the ball hit the hand? He said 'yes', but why it's not a penalty? I don't understand."

Article by: Staff Reporter
Terms of use:

The comments posted do not reflect the views of KickOff.com. Users are reminded that no misuse of this comment facility will be tolerated. Any abusive, racist, inflammatory, defamatory, discriminatory comments or hate speech will be deleted and the user banned.

If legally obliged we will hand over your information under the Protection of Information Act.

Please report abusive posts to editor@kickoff.com.