Related News

Related Club News

SuperSport United defender Grant Kekana is excited to be in Bafana Bafana's preliminary squad

Posted: 9 May 2018 Time: 14:20

He grew up watching the likes of Doctor Khumalo, the late Shoes Moshoeu and Benni McCarthy playing for Bafana Bafana and now Grant Kekana could get his first chance to don national colours.

The SuperSport United defender has been included in Stuart Baxter’s 34-man preliminary squad for the upcoming COSAFA Cup set to take place in Polokwane from May 27. The final squad will be announced on May 17.

Kekana has featured regularly in the side this season, playing 27 matches in all competitions. It's his dream to finally make his national team debut.

“I am obviously excited. It shows that when you work hard people are always watching, so it’s just an exciting thing for me because it’s the first time for me,” he tells

“It’s been my dream to represent the country at some point, so it would really complete me in a way. There’s quite a lot of players I looked up to. You have your Doctor Khumalo, Shoes Moshoeu, Benni McCarthy, Teko Modise. Those are people I looked up to growing up.”

Matsatsantsa will take on Baroka FC in their final match of the season at Lucas Moripe Stadium on Saturday (15h00), looking to avoid going into the play-offs. 

Bafana preliminary squad:

Goalkeepers: Bruce Bvuma (Kaizer Chiefs), Reyaad Pieterse (SuperSport United) and Brandon Petersen (Ajax Cape Town)

Defenders: Reeve Frosler (Bidvest Wits), Grant Kekana (Supersport United), Siyabonga Ngezana (Kaizer Chiefs), Motjeka Madisha (Mamelodi Sundowns), Siyanda Xulu (Maritzburg United), Taariq Fielies (Cape Town City), Innocent Maela (Orlando Pirates), Mosa Lebusa (Ajax Cape Town), Sibusiso Mabiliso (AmaZulu), Paseka Mako (Chippa United) and Mothobi Mvala (Highlands Park)

Midfielders: Wiseman Meyiwa (Kaizer Chiefs), Siphesihle Ndlovu (Maritzburg United), Fortune Makaringe (Maritzburg United), Teboho Mokoena (SuperSport United), Goodman Mosele (Baroka) Aubrey Modiba (SuperSport United), Jamie Webber (SuperSport United), Thembinkosi Lorch (Orlando Pirates), Lebohang Maboe (Maritzburg United), Grant Margeman (Ajax Cape Town), Siphelele Ntshangase (Kaizer Chiefs), Abednego Mosiatlhaga (Bidvest Wits), Gift Links (Alassiouty Sport FC, Egypt), Phakamani Mahlambi (Al Ahly, Egypt) and Vincent Pule (Bidvest Wits)

Strikers: Gift Motupa (Baroka), Lyle Foster (Orlando Pirates), Ryan Moon (Kaizer Chiefs), Luther Singh (SC Braga B FC, Portugal) and Lebo Mothiba (Lille FC, France) 

Article by: Tshepang Mailwane
Terms of use:

The comments posted do not reflect the views of Users are reminded that no misuse of this comment facility will be tolerated. Any abusive, racist, inflammatory, defamatory, discriminatory comments or hate speech will be deleted and the user banned.

If legally obliged we will hand over your information under the Protection of Information Act.

Please report abusive posts to