Related News

Related Club News

South Africa, Polokwane to host 2018 COSAFA Cup

Posted: 16 April 2018 Time: 14:43

South Africa are set to host the COSAFA Cup for a second year running, with the 2018 tournament scheduled to take place in Limpopo.

The regional showpiece will be staged in the country for the third time in the last four years, with the fixture draw set to be held at SAFA House on Wednesday.

Botswana withdrew from the hosting of the event due to budget constraints earlier this year, with SAFA once again welcoming the event onto their own shores, after Zimbabwe were crowned 2017 champions in Rustenburg.

The 14-team tournament will kick off on May 27, with eight teams contesting the first round group stage, before the top-six ranked teams join in at the quarter-final stages.

The top six include reigning champions Zimbabwe, Zambia, Lesotho, South Africa, Namibia and Swaziland, while the group stage contestants contain Botswana, Madagascar, Angola, Mozambique (all Pot 1), Mauritius, Malawi, Seychelles and Comoros Islands (all Pot 2).

Bafana last won the tournament in 2016, with Namibia and Zambia going all the way in 2015 and 2013 respectively. 

Article by: Chad Klate (@CKlatey)
Terms of use:

The comments posted do not reflect the views of Users are reminded that no misuse of this comment facility will be tolerated. Any abusive, racist, inflammatory, defamatory, discriminatory comments or hate speech will be deleted and the user banned.

If legally obliged we will hand over your information under the Protection of Information Act.

Please report abusive posts to