Related News

Related Club News

Stuart Baxter names Bafana squad and invites Pirates' Rhulani Mokwena to four-nations tournament in Zambia

Posted: 13 March 2018 Time: 11:19

South Africa coach Stuart Baxter has named his squad and called on the assistance of Rhulani Mokwena for a four-nations tournament, taking place in Zambia from March 22 to 25.

The competition will also feature Zimbabwe and Angola, and will serve as preparation for the resumption of the 2019 African Nations Cup qualifiers in September.

Baxter has notably invited highly-rated Orlando Pirates assistant coach Mokwena to be a part of proceedings. 

Baxter has made 14 changes to the unit that ended a dismal World Cup qualifying campaign against Senegal in November last year. 

The Brit has brought in goalkeepers Brandon Petersen and Darren Keet; defenders Reeve Frosler, Ramahlwe Mphahlele, Daniel Cardoso, Buhle Mkhwanazi and Innocent Maela; midfielders Siphesihle Ndlovu, Tebogo Mokoena, Aubrey Modiba and Thembinkosi Lorch, as well as strikers Lebo Mothiba and Ryan Moon.

Bafana Bafana will first face Angola on Thursday, March 22 at the Levy Mwanawasa Stadium in Ndola at 15h00. The third-place play-off and final will take place at the same venue on March 25.

Bafana will assemble on March 18 and leave the country two days later.

Bafana, who are without injured midfielder Andile Jali, started the AFCON qualifiers with a 2-0 win over Nigeria in Uyo.

Baxter's side will aim to restore national pride after finishing bottom of their qualifying group for this year's World Cup in Russia.


1. Itumeleng KHUNE Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA)
2. Darren KEET Bidvest Wits FC (SA)
3. Brandon PETERSEN Ajax Cape Town FC (SA)
4. Reeve  FROSLER Bidvest Wits FC (SA)
5. Ramahlwe MPHAHLELE Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA)
6. Thulani HLATSHWAYO Bidvest Wits FC (SA)
7. Motjeka MADISHA Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)
8. Daniel CARDOSO Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA)
9. Buhle MKHWANAZI Bidvest Wits FC (SA)
10. Innocent MAELA Orlando Pirates FC (SA)
11. S’Fiso HLANTI Bidvest Wits FC (SA)
12. Dean FURMAN Supersport United FC (SA)
13. Siphesihle NDLOVU Maritzburg United FC (SA)
14. Kamohelo MOKOTJO Brentford FC (England)
15. Teboho MOKOENA Supersport United FC (SA)
16. Bongani ZUNGU Amiens FC (France)
17. Aubrey MODIBA Supersport United FC (SA)
18. Sibusiso VILAKAZI Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)
19. Thembinkosi LORCH Orlando Pirates FC (SA)
20. Keagan DOLLY Montpellier FC (France)
21. Phakamani MAHLAMBI AL Ahly FC (Egypt)
22. Themba ZWANE Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)
23. Percy TAU Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)
24. Lebo MOTHIBA Lille FC (FRANCE)
25. Ryan MOON Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA)


Article by: Staff Reporter
Terms of use:

The comments posted do not reflect the views of Users are reminded that no misuse of this comment facility will be tolerated. Any abusive, racist, inflammatory, defamatory, discriminatory comments or hate speech will be deleted and the user banned.

If legally obliged we will hand over your information under the Protection of Information Act.

Please report abusive posts to