Picture courtesy of SAFA

Related News

Related Club News

Desiree Ellis names Banyana line-up for Belgium clash at Cyprus Women's Cup

Posted: 7 March 2018 Time: 12:14

Banyana Banyana head coach Desiree Ellis has made three team changes for today's fifth/sixth place play-off against Belgium at the Cyprus Women’s Cup.

Kick-off is at 15h00 at GSZ Stadium in Larnaca.

Following a goalless draw with Korea DPR, Kaylin Swart keeps her place in goals. The defence also remains unchanged with Regina Mogolola at right-back, Leandra Smeda at left-back and the central pairing of captain Janine van Wyk and Bambanani Mbane.

Nompumelelo Nyandeni gets her first start in the tournament as she comes in for Refiloe Jane in the middle of the park, where she will play with Linda Motlhalo and be assisted by Thembi Kgatlana and Jermaine Seoposenwe. The latter takes the place of Kgaelebane Mohlakoana.

Melinda Kgadiete keeps her place upfront and will partner with Noko Matlou, who also starts a match for the first time.

Only three players have started in all the matches – Van Wyk, Mbane and Kgatlana, with the two defenders playing every minute of the tournament up to this point. The only player that is still to get some action in the competition is Zanele Nhlapho.

Belgium are ranked 22nd in the world and finished second in Group B, where they won one match, lost one and drew one.

South Africa drew two and won the other.

The two countries last met in 2015 in the group stages of this tournament, with Seoposenwe scoring the solitary goal of the match to give Banyana their only victory in the competition.

Three matches will kick off the proceedings of the final day at 11h00 at different venues.

Finland and Hungary will fight for 11th/12th place at Tasos Marko Stadium in Paralimni. Czech Republic and Slovakia will battle it out for 9th/10th place at GSZ Stadium in Larnaca, while 7th/8th place will be contested by Wales and Austria at AEK Arena in Larnaca.

Switzerland and Korea DPR will then play for third place at 14h00 in Paralimni, with Spain and Italy bringing the curtain down on the tournament in the final at 18h00 at AEK Arena.

The South Africans return home on Friday and are expected to land at OR Tambo International Airport at 10h35.

Banyana XI: Kaylin Swart (GK), Regina Mogolola, Leandra Smeda, Bambanani Mbane, Janine van Wyk (c), Nompumelelo Nyandeni, Linda Motlhalo, Thembi Kgatlana, Jermaine Seoposenwe, Melinda Kgadiete, Noko Matlou.

Subs: Andile Dlamini (GK), Roxanne Barker (GK), Nothando Vilakazi, Zanele Nhlapho, Sduduzo Dlamini, Lebohang Ramalepe, Chantelle Esau, Refiloe Jane, Rachel Sebati, Kgaelebane Mohlakoana.

Article by: Staff Reporter
Terms of use:

The comments posted do not reflect the views of KickOff.com. Users are reminded that no misuse of this comment facility will be tolerated. Any abusive, racist, inflammatory, defamatory, discriminatory comments or hate speech will be deleted and the user banned.

If legally obliged we will hand over your information under the Protection of Information Act.

Please report abusive posts to editor@kickoff.com.