Related News

Related Club News

SuperSport’s Jeremy Brockie and Sundowns’ Denis Onyango out of CAF award contention

Posted: 19 December 2017 Time: 13:20

PSL duo Jeremy Brockie and Denis Onyango are unfortunately no longer in line for individual honours after CAF decided to cancel the Player of the Year Based in Africa award.

CAF on Monday revealed a final list of nominees in line for various 2017 CAF awards, including the three nominees for the CAF Player of the Year. However, they failed to release the top three names for the CAF Player of the Year Based in Africa award, having initially shortlisted 10 players at the end of November.

That list included CAF Confederation Cup top scorer Brockie, as well as the current holder of the prize Onyango, who shone between the poles for Sundowns once again this season.

When contacted by about the specific award’s omission, CAF media director Junior Binyam revealed the 2017 award, as well as the Referee of the Year award, has been scrapped by the federation.

“That category and referee of the year were left out based on a decision of the emergency committee,” Binyam told

“Those two categories have been cancelled.”

When probed as to why this was the case, Binyam said: “I don't know the reasons.”

South Africa will still be well-presented at next year’s awards ceremony, with Banyana Banyana in line for the Women’s Team of the Year award, while Banyana star Chrestina Kgatlana is up for the Women's Player of the Year prize.

The awards gala will take place on Thursday, 4 January 2018 in Accra, Ghana.

Article by: Fabio De Dominicis
Terms of use:

The comments posted do not reflect the views of Users are reminded that no misuse of this comment facility will be tolerated. Any abusive, racist, inflammatory, defamatory, discriminatory comments or hate speech will be deleted and the user banned.

If legally obliged we will hand over your information under the Protection of Information Act.

Please report abusive posts to