Related News

Related Club News

Bantwana quintet blocked at Botswana border

Posted: 1 December 2017 Time: 11:29

Five members of the South Africa U-17 women's squad were denied entry into Botswana for today's U-17 Women's World Cup qualifier at the Lobatse Sports Complex (15h00).

The five had to return home as they lacked the necessary documentation, leaving 17 players at the disposal of interim coach Simphiwe Dludlu.

Of the 17 only three have international experience. They are captain Kaylyn Jordaan – U-17 (2) and U-20 (2); Karabo Dlamini – U-17 (2) and U-20 (5) and Sibulele Holweni – U-17 (2) and U-20 (2).

“It has been a dramatic period but it is all behind us now. I would have loved to bring all the players here but due to matters beyond our control we had to leave them behind. The five players are safely back in South Africa and with the squad that is here we have a job to do,” said Dludlu.

“After this episode I was worried about how the players would respond at training, but I was happy to see their focus is on the game and I am positive that we will return home victorious. For most of them this will be their first ever international match, I just hope when kick-off comes they are ready. But they have showed how strong they are mentally and that was impressive.”

South Africa got a bye in the preliminary round.

Botswana advanced by beating Zambia 6-5 on aggregate. Zambia won 5-2 at home but Botswana managed a 4-0 victory in the return leg.

“That result alone shows they are a very formidable side at home so we have to be at our best to ensure we win the match. We are ready for them and I am almost certain we will return home victorious,” added Dludlu.

Bantwana travel back to South Africa on Saturday, with the second leg scheduled for December 16 at Dobsonville Stadium (15h00).



  1. Leigh BROPHY UCT FC


  1. Kaylyn Jordaan Spurs FC/HPC
  2. Yenzokuhle NGUBANE Sunflower FC
  3. Yolanda NDULI Sunflower FC


  1. Sphumelele SHAMASE Sunflower FC
  2. Thubelihle SHAMASE Sunflower FC
  3. Jessica WADE JVW FC
  4. Micaela NUNENS JVW FC
  5. Karabo DLAMINI Mamelodi Sundowns/HPC
  6. Precious CHOSHI Kanatla Ladies
  7. Sibulele HOLWENI Sophakama Ladies/HPC
  8. Oratile MOKWENA Mamelodi Sundowns
  9. Miche MINNIES Santos FC


  1. Thambolinye MZONELI Shooting Stars
  2. Chloe VALKIN Wanderers Warriors Boys Club

Article by: Staff Reporter
Terms of use:

The comments posted do not reflect the views of Users are reminded that no misuse of this comment facility will be tolerated. Any abusive, racist, inflammatory, defamatory, discriminatory comments or hate speech will be deleted and the user banned.

If legally obliged we will hand over your information under the Protection of Information Act.

Please report abusive posts to