Related News

Related Club News

SuperSport United are closing in on Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates and Mamelodi Sundowns

Posted: 18 November 2017 Time: 19:00

The CAF Confederation Cup decider against TP Mazembe will be the 16th final that SuperSport United have reached through their history as a PSL club which stretches back to 1996.

SuperSport will start the first leg of the second-tier continental club competition away in Lubumbashi on Sunday afternoon before the deciding tie at Lucas Moripe on November 25.

For a club that was only formed in 1994 when M-Net bought Pretoria City’s first division status (ownership was later transferred to SuperSport International) the club has done amazingly well considering that they have also won three league titles.

Having already been in the last three finals of domestic knockout competitions, the Confederation Cup decider is the fourth consecutive final that they have reached over the last year.

They were in the Telkom Knockout final in December last year, following suit in the Nedbank Cup in June and the MTN8 last month.

Matsatsantsa are now walking with pride as they are edging close to the 'Big Three' of Kaizer Chiefs (22), Orlando Pirates (20) and Mamelodi Sundowns (20), in terms of reaching cup finals in the PSL era across all local and continental competitions.

They have won eight of their 15 cup finals to date.

Finals that SuperSport have reached in the PSL era:

Top 8
SAA Supa8
2004 – SuperSport United 1 Kaizer Chiefs 0
2005 – Bloemfontein Celtic 1 SuperSport United 0
2006 – Kaizer Chiefs 1 SuperSport United 0

2012 – Moroka Swallows 1 SuperSport United 0
2017 – Cape Town City 1 SuperSport United 1 (SuperSport win 4-2 on penalties)

League cup
2004 – Kaizer Chiefs 1 SuperSport United 0
2005 – Jomo Cosmos 1 SuperSport United 1 (Cosmos win 4-1 on penalties)
Telkom Knockout
2014 – SuperSport United 3 Platinum Stars 2
2016 – SuperSport United 1 Cape Town City 2

National Cup
1999 – SuperSport United 2 Kaizer Chiefs 1
2005 SuperSport United 1 Wits University 0
2012 – SuperSport United 2 Mamelodi Sundowns 0
2013 – Kaizer Chiefs 1 SuperSport United 0
2016 – SuperSport United 3 Orlando Pirates 2
2017 – SuperSport United 4 Orlando Pirates 1

Article by: Lovemore Moyo
Terms of use:

The comments posted do not reflect the views of Users are reminded that no misuse of this comment facility will be tolerated. Any abusive, racist, inflammatory, defamatory, discriminatory comments or hate speech will be deleted and the user banned.

If legally obliged we will hand over your information under the Protection of Information Act.

Please report abusive posts to