Related News

Related Club News

The likes of Jeremy Brockie, Dean Furman, Percy Tau and Denis Onyango have been nominated for CAF Player of the Year

Posted: 1 November 2017 Time: 15:50

SuperSport United duo Dean Furman and Jeremy Brockie have been nominated for the African Player of the Year Based in Africa award.

Mamelodi Sundowns player Percy Tau, who reached the quarterfinals of the CAF Champions League with his club and has done well in senior national team colours for Bafana Bafana, has also been nominated for the award, which was won by his teammate Denis Onyango last year. Onyango has been nominated again this year and will be hoping to make it two in a row.

Brockie, probably one of the favourites to win the award because of his performances in the Confederation Cup, has scored 10 goals in the second-tier event this year. He has a chance of scoring more, because Matsatsantsa a Pitori are in the final against DRC giants TP Mazembe.

Brockie scored in the semi-finals for Matsatsantsa, while Furman has been an important figure for the club in midfield. Both players will be itching to get their hands on the trophy as SuperSport look to win their first continental title. 

Tau, meanwhile, has been one of Sundowns' star performers, even though they were knocked out in the quarterfinals of the competition they won last year.

African Player of the Year – Based in Africa

1. Achraf Bencharki (Morocco & Wydad Athletic Club)

2. Ahmed Fathi (Egypt & Al Ahly)

3. Alkhaly Bangoura (Guinea & Etoile du Sahel)

4. Ali Maaloul (Tunisia & Al Ahly)

5. Aristide Bance (Burkina Faso & Al Masry)

6. Ayman Majid (Morocco & FUS Rabat)

7. Aymen Mathlouthi (Tunisia & Etoile du Sahel)

8. Ben Malango (DR Congo & TP Mazembe)

9. Dean Furman (South Africa & Supersport United)

10. Denis Onyango (Uganda & Mamelodi Sundowns)

11. Elsamani Saadeldin (Sudan & Al Merreikh)

12. Fackson Kapumbu (Zambia & Zesco)

13. Fawzi Chaouchi (Algeria & MC Alger)

14. Geoffrey Serunkuma (Uganda & KCCA)

15. Jeremy Brockie (New Zealand & Supersport)

16. Junior Ajayi (Nigeria & Al Ahly)

17. Karim Aouadhi (Tunisia & CS Sfaxien)

18. Mohamed Meftah (Algeria & USM Alger)

19. Mohamed Ounnajem (Morocco & Wydad Athletic Club)

20. Muaid Ellafi (Libya & Ahly Tripoli)

21. Nasr Eldin Ahmed (Sudan & Hilal Obeid)

22. Oussama Darfalou (Algeria & USM Alger)

23. Percy Tau (South Africa & Mamelodi Sundowns)

24. Sabelo Ndzinisa (Swaziland & Mbabane Swallows)

25. Saber Khalifa (Tunisia & Club Africain)

26. Saladin Said (Ethiopia & Saint George)

27. Sylvain Gbohouo (Cote d’Ivoire & TP Mazembe)

28. Tady Etekiama (DR Congo & AS Vita)

29. Taha Yassine Khenissi (Tunisia & Esperance)

30. Tarek Hamed (Egypt & Zamalek)

Article by: Staff Reporter
Terms of use:

The comments posted do not reflect the views of Users are reminded that no misuse of this comment facility will be tolerated. Any abusive, racist, inflammatory, defamatory, discriminatory comments or hate speech will be deleted and the user banned.

If legally obliged we will hand over your information under the Protection of Information Act.

Please report abusive posts to