Related News

Related Club News

Stuart Baxter names Bafana squad for World Cup qualifiers with Senegal

Posted: 26 October 2017 Time: 11:24

Bafana Bafana coach Stuart Baxter has named his squad for the back-to-back World Cup qualifiers with Senegal next month, notably handing a recall to Kaizer Chiefs midfielder Siphiwe Tshabalala.


Baxter has kept the bulk of the squad that defeated Burkina Faso 3-1 on October 7 at FNB Stadium.

He welcomes back the defensive partnership of captain Thulani Hlatshwayo, who was out injured in that match as well as Erick Mathoho and Dean Furman, who were both suspended.

Making his return after a three-year absence is Amakhosi stalwart Tshabalala.

Baxter has also called up midfielders Bongani Zungu and Andile Jali who are both suspended.

Jali will serve one-match after collecting two yellow cards in the qualifiers and will be available for the away leg.

Zungu has been included pending a FIFA disciplinary case, which will sit on the 1st of November to look into the red card he received in the clash against the Burkinabe.

Baxter said: “In an ideal world I would love to have all the players available for every match but we know it is not possible. In Zungu’s case we will await the outcome of sitting but we have a job to do, and if you thought playing Burkina Faso was a World Cup final, I can tell you now that playing Senegal is much more important than that.

“We have only one option – to win the remaining two games and book our ticket to Russia. Everyone, myself, the players, the association, media and the public – is well aware that anything less than victory in both matches will be curtains for our World Cup aspirations. We did well against Burkina Faso, so we have to keep on believing that is it is very much possible to qualify. The good thing is that it is all in our hands.”

South Africa must beat the Teranga Lions in both Group D matches to earn a ticket to Russia 2018.

Bafana initially defeated the west Africans 2-1 in Polokwane last year, but FIFA ordered a replay after Ghanaian referee Joseph Lamptey was found guilty of 'match manipulation'.

Baxter's men will host Senegal at Peter Mokaba Stadium on November 10 (19h00) before contesting the rematch four days later in Dakar at Stade Leopold Sedar Senghor (21h30).


  1. Itumeleng KHUNE Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA)
  2. Wayne SANDILANDS Orlando Pirates FC (SA)
  3. Ronwen WILLIAMS Supersport United FC (SA)
  4. Thamsanqa MKHIZE Cape Town City FC (SA)
  5. Clayton DANIELS Supersport United FC (SA)
  6. Erick MATHOHO Kaizer Chiefs FC (FC)
  7. Motjeka MADISHA Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)
  8. Morgan GOULD Supersport United (SA)
  9. Thulani HLATSHWAYO (C) Bidvest Wits FC (SA)
  10. Tebogo LANGERMAN Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)
  11. Sifiso HLANTI Bidvest Wits FC (SA)
  12. Hlompho KEKANA Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)
  13. Dean FURMAN Supersport United FC (SA)
  14. Keagan DOLLY Montpellier (France)
  15. Andile JALI KV Oostende FC (Belgium)
  16. Kamohelo MOKOTJO Brentford FC (England)
  17. Sibusiso VILAKAZI Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)
  18. Themba ZWANE Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)
  19. Bongani ZUNGU Amiens SC (France)
  20. Thulani SERERO SBV Vitesse (Holland)
  21. Phakamani MAHLAMBI AL Ahly FC (EGYPT)
  22. Lebogang MANYAMA Konyaspor FC Turkey)
  23. Siphiwe TSHABALALA Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA)
  24. Percy TAU Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)
  25. Bradley GROBLER Supersport United FC (SA)
  26. Dino NDLOVU Fk Qarabag (Azerbaijan)
Article by: Staff Reporter
Terms of use:

The comments posted do not reflect the views of Users are reminded that no misuse of this comment facility will be tolerated. Any abusive, racist, inflammatory, defamatory, discriminatory comments or hate speech will be deleted and the user banned.

If legally obliged we will hand over your information under the Protection of Information Act.

Please report abusive posts to