Amajita hammered by Brazil

Posted: 31 August 2017 Time: 07:14

The South Africa U-20 team were thumped 4-0 by Brazil in a friendly at Saint George's Park in England on Wednesday night.

This was the first of two matches of a tri-nations tournament that also involves the host nation.

After a decent first half in which they held their own against their much-fancied opponents, Amajita fell apart in the second stanza.

Brazil made several changes in the opening half, while stand-in Amajita head coach Helman Mkhalele made four changes in the 59th minute. He brought on Leo Thethani, Dylan Stoffels, Lyle Foster and Keegan Allan for Tashreeq Matthews, Duncan Adonis, Tyrique Bartlett and Luke Le Roux respectively.


The move did not pay off as the team lost shape – conceding their first goal three minutes later through Vitinho.

The striker grabbed his second of the night in the 66th minute to increase his side’s lead.

In an attempt to try and pull one back, the South Africans were caught napping at the back, and Rodrigo Nestor netted Brazil’s third in the 69th minute.

Foster came close to reducing the deficit a short while later after he beat the opposition defence with some skillful play, but his curler went wide.

Brazil’s second-half substitute Brenner could have easily made it 4-0 when he managed to beat the offside trap but was in a hurry to take a shot with the goalkeeper at this mercy, and he fired off target.

The fourth goal came, however, in the 89th minute through Yuri Alberto.

Prior to the goal, South Africa made their fifth substitution, replacing an injured Dean Solomons with Sibusiso Shabane.

Amajita next face England on Monday before returning home on Wednesday morning. The match takes place at Harrison Park Stadium in Leek. Kick-off is at 19h00.

Here’s how they lined up:

Brazil:Lucas Alexandre (GK), Marcos Antonio, Matheus Stockil, Lucas Halter (C), Victor Bobsin, Weverson, Vitinho, Rodrigo Nestor, Lincoln, Helio Junio, Anthony

Subs: Gabriel Brazao (GK), Vitor Eduardo, Edu, Luan Candido, Gustavo Henrique, Luan Pereira, Alan, Brenner, Yuri Alberto

Head coach: Carlos Amadeu

South Africa: Phillip Lesoma (GK), Lethabo Mazibuko, Dean Solomons (Sibusiso Shabane), Leseane Mokgopedi, Siphesihle Mkhize, Duncan Adonis (Dylan Stoffels), Malebogo Modise (C), Brooklyn Poggenpoel, Luke Le Roux (Keegan Allan), Tashreeq Matthews (Leo Thethani), Tyrique Bartlett (Lyle Foster)

Subs: Glen Baadjies (GK), Swelihle Mthiyane, Bafana Tshawe, Leo Thethani, Sibusiso Shabane, Keegan Allen, Ngcebo Nala, Lyle Foster, Dylan Stoffels

Stand-in head coach: Helman Mkhalele

Article by: Staff Reporter

Related News

View comments