Image courtesy PSL

Related News

Related Club News

Premier Soccer League announce PSL award nominees 2016/17

Posted: 26 June 2017 Time: 14:18

The Premier Soccer League have announced the list of nominees for the 2016/17 PSL awards, which is set to take place on July 10.

Cape Town City captain and 2017 KICK OFF Player of the Year Lebogang Manyama dominated the nominations list after being named in four categories, including the Absa Premiership Top Goal Scorer.

Manyama's City teammate Aubrey Ngoma also bagged three nominations, as did Bidvest Wits skipper Thulani Hlatshwayo, who lead his side to a historic MTN 8 and league double.

Kaizer Chiefs have one award nominee in defender Ramahlwe Mphahlele, while Orlando Pirates' only nominees are midfielder Mpho Makola and defender Abbubaker Mobara.

Mamelodi Sundowns have five nominees, including coach Pitso Mosimane, skipper Hlompho Kekana, young defender Motjeka Madisha, goalkeeper Denis Onyango and forward Percy Tau.

Full list of categories and nominees:

NFD Top goal scorer (winner): Sedwyn George (Royal Eagles)

MTN 8 Last Man Standing: Thulani Hlatshwayo, Daine Klate, Gabadinho Mhango (all Bidvest Wits)

Telkom Knockout Player of the Tournament: Aubrey Ngoma, Lebogang Manyama (both Cape Town City), Michael Boxall (SuperSport United)

Nedbank Cup Young Player of the Tournament: Nduduzo Sibiya, Siyabonga Dube (both Golden Arrows), Teboho Mokeona (SuperSport United)

Nedbank Cup Player of the Tournament: Abbubaker Mobara, Mpho Makola (both Orlando Pirates), Teboho Mokoena (SuperSport United)

Absa Premiership Goalkeeper of the Season: Darren Keet (Bidvest Wits), Dennis Onyango (Mamelodi Sundowns), Shuaib Walters (Cape Town City)

Absa Premiership Defender of the Season: Ramahlwe Mphahlele (Kaizer Chiefs), Sifiso Hlanti, Thulani Hlatshwayo (both Bidvest Wits)

Absa Premiership Midfielder of the Season: Aubrey Ngoma (Cape Town City), Hlompho Kekana (Mamelodi Sundowns), Thabang Monare (Bidvest Wits)

Absa Premiership Top goal scorer (winner): Lebogang Manyama (Cape Town City)

Absa Premiership Coach of the Season: Eric Tinkler (Cape Town City), Gavin hunt (Bidvest Wits), Pitso Mosimane (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Absa Premiership Young Player of the Season: Motjeka Madisha (Mamelodi Sundowns), Nduduzo Sibiya (Golden Arrows), Phakamani Mahlambi (Bidvest Wits)

Absa Premiership Player of the Season: Aubrey Ngoma, Lebogang Manyama (both Cape Town City), Percy Tau (Mamelodi Sundowns)

PSL Footballer of the Season: Hlompho Kekana (Mamelodi Sundowns), Lebogang Manyama (Cape Town City), Thulani Hlatshwayo (Bidvest Wits)

Article by: Staff Reporter
Terms of use:

The comments posted do not reflect the views of Users are reminded that no misuse of this comment facility will be tolerated. Any abusive, racist, inflammatory, defamatory, discriminatory comments or hate speech will be deleted and the user banned.

If legally obliged we will hand over your information under the Protection of Information Act.

Please report abusive posts to