Related News

Related Club News

Hosts Bafana Bafana name provisional squad ahead of COSAFA Castle Cup title defence

Posted: 23 June 2017 Time: 11:04

The provisional Bafana Bafana squad for the 2017 COSAFA Castle Cup has been revealed as the team prepare for their title defence.

South Africa lifted the trophy in 2016 after seeing off Botswana in the final, and will now kick off this year’s instalment at the quarter-final stage.

Stuart Baxter’s men will face the winner of Group A, which contains Tanzania, Malawi, Mauritius and Angola, as the tournament kicks off on June 25 and runs until July 9.

Some of the big-name inclusions in the squad are Cape Town City star Aubrey Ngoma, Kaizer Chiefs up-and-comer Lorenzo Gordinho and Maritzburg United star Lebogang Maboe.

The provisional Bafana Bafana squad:

Goalkeepers: Darren Johnson (Ajax Cape Town), Bruce Bvuma (Kaizer Chiefs), Baolefa Pule (SuperSport United)

Defenders: Thendo Mukumela (Mamelodi Sundowns), Sandile Mthethwa (Orlando Pirates), Mothobi Mvala (Highlands Park), Mario Booysen (SuperSport United), Tercious Malepe (Orlando Pirates), Innocent Maela (Thanda Royal Zulu), Lorenzo Gordinho (Kaizer Chiefs)

Midfielders: Thabo Cele (Real Clubbe FC), Lebogang Maboe (Maritzburg United), Sibongakonke Mbatha (Bidvest Wits), Nduduzo Sibiya (Golden Arrows), Mandla Masango (SuperSport United), Lehlohonolo Masalesa (Larrissa), Lebogang Phiri (EA Guingamp), Aubrey Ngoma (Cape Town City)

Strikers: Liam Jordan (Sporting Lisbon), Judas Moseamedi (Cape Town City)

Article by: Staff Reporter
Terms of use:

The comments posted do not reflect the views of Users are reminded that no misuse of this comment facility will be tolerated. Any abusive, racist, inflammatory, defamatory, discriminatory comments or hate speech will be deleted and the user banned.

If legally obliged we will hand over your information under the Protection of Information Act.

Please report abusive posts to