Related News

Related Club News

SuperSport United, Orlando Pirates to clash in ninth final staged at Moses Mabhida Stadium

Posted: 20 June 2017 Time: 08:42

Saturday’s Nedbank Cup final will be the ninth decider to be played at Moses Mabhida Stadium through the venue’s eight-year history.

The 10th edition of the season-ending Ke Yona competition will pit holders SuperSport United against last year’s losing finalists Orlando Pirates, with kick-off in Durban at 20h15.

The venue has already staged three MTN8 finals and another three Telkom Knockout climaxes, and this weekend’s showpiece will mark it a treble of Nedbank Cup finals.

The first Nedbank Cup final played at Moses Mabhida was in 2013, which Kaizer Chiefs won 1-0 against SuperSport, while the second was played a year later with Pirates emerging winners after downing Bidvest Wits.

Outgoing SuperSport United coach Stuart Baxter was in charge of Chiefs in that Nedbank Cup success, while he has won both of the finals he has overseen at the Durban stadium so far, having also won the MTN8 there with Amakhosi three years ago after seeing off Platinum Stars.

All previous Moses Mabhida Stadium finals:

Nedbank Cup
2013 – Kaizer Chiefs 1 SuperSport United 0
2014 – Orlando Pirates 3 Bidvest Wits 1

2010 – Orlando Pirates 1 Moroka Swallows 1 (AET) Bucs win 4-2 on penalties
2013 – Orlando Pirates 1 Platinum Stars 1 (AET) Stars win 3-1 on penalties
2014 – Kaizer Chiefs 1 Orlando Pirates 0

Telkom KnockOut
2011 – Orlando Pirates 3 Bidvest Wits 1
2012 – Bloemfontein Celtic 1 Mamelodi Sundowns 0
2015 – Mamelodi Sundowns 3 Kaizer Chiefs 1

Article by: Lovemore Moyo
Terms of use:

The comments posted do not reflect the views of Users are reminded that no misuse of this comment facility will be tolerated. Any abusive, racist, inflammatory, defamatory, discriminatory comments or hate speech will be deleted and the user banned.

If legally obliged we will hand over your information under the Protection of Information Act.

Please report abusive posts to