Baxter names team for Nigeria

Posted: 9 June 2017 Time: 22:33

Stuart Baxter has named his Bafana Bafana side to face Nigeria in an African Nations Cup qualifier in Uyo on Saturday, with a return for Bongani Zungu and Tokelo Rantie.

Rantie starts up front as a lone striker, with Sibusiso Vilakazi just behind him in a free role.

The midfield will be anchored by Zungu and Dean Furman, with Keagan Dolly and Themba Zwane either side of them.

Itumeleng Khune not surprisingly takes the goalkeeper jersey, with Rama Mphahlele and Tebogo Langerman in the fullback positions.


The centre-back pairing sees captain Thulani Hlatshwayo paired with Eric Mathoho.

Kick-off for the game is 18h00 South African time

Starting XI: Itumeleng Khune, Rama Mphahlele, Erick Mathoho, Thulani Hlatshwayo (c), Tebogo Langerman, Themba Zwane, Dean Furman, Bongani Zungu, Keagan Dolly, Sibusiso Vilakazi, Tokelo Rantie

Subs: Darren Keet, Andile Jali, Percy Tau, Tiyani Mabunda, Lorenzo Gordinho, Lebogang Manyama, Abbubaker Mobara

Article by: Staff Reporter

Related News

View comments