Honoured - Gordon Igesund

Related News

Related Club News

KZN honours its heroes

Posted: 19 March 2009 Time: 21:51

KwaZulu-Natal football lovers on Thursday relived the glory days in sport when the provincial Department of Sport and Recreation paid tribute to the province’s former football stars at a gala event titled ‘Night of the Legends’.

The concept of Night of the Legends has been a brainchild of the MEC for Sport and Recreation, Amichand Rajbansi. It aims to recognise and honour the contributions of individuals to the growth of football in the province.   The awardees comprised football players, administrators and other role-players such as the media for their contribution to development and growth of football in KwaZulu-Natal from the 1950s onwards. The event was held at the Inkosi Albert Luthuli Convention Centre.   Rajbansi said national and provincial governments have taken a decision that the past sport stars be accommodated and not forgotten. He added that the significance of ensuring that KwaZulu-Natal has a united front in dealing with the challenges of 2010.   “It is sad that, as the years roll on, our memories of these grand entertainers of South African sport also diminish, and before they become extinct let us reminiscence the glory days gone by,” he explained.   “We should have a process where we would eventually establish a Sports Hall of Fame. As part of our 2010 initiative, it is imperative that we recognise the achievements of footballers, technical officials, coaches and administrators involved in football over the period of 1940-1996,” Rajbansi said.   The full list of inductees is:   Media Elijah ‘More and More’ Zondi (Posthumous), Brijlal Ramguthee, Tommy Ballantyne, Dennis Pather, S’busiso Mseleku, Robert Marawa, Phumlani Msibi, Thanda Ndlovu, Phillip Zwane, Ranjith Kally, Penuel Nkwakhwa, Nash Ngcobo and Farouk Khan   Referees Griffith Ngwenya (Posthumous), Star Shoba (Posthumous), Robert Gabayi (Posthumous) Gideon Nxumalo (Posthumous), Ranjith Ramlakan (Posthumous), Thembinkosi Zungu (Posthumous), Bongikosi Sidwell Ntombela (Posthumous), Sipho Rudolph Dlomo, Ian McLeod, Raymond Rodgers, Murugan Robert Pillay, Ms Maria-Jean, Sam Draai, Ike Dube and Johan Ngcobo   Administrators Rodgers Sishi (Posthumous), Norman Elliot (Posthumous), Rama Reddy (Posthumous), SK Chetty, Ashwin Trikamjee, R.K. Naidoo, Kenneth Lebenya, Ms Mato Madlala, Eric F Matshatsha, Bethwel Masondo, Vusi Mkhize, Phillip Ngcece, Alfred Hlophe, Ms Mary-Jane Sokhela and Joe Nkosi.   Coaches Clive Barker, Gordon Igesund, Moses Alli, Thabo Dladla, Balu Parekh (Manager) and Mike Makaab   Special awards Veronica Phewa, Memory Makhanya, Dillon Sheppard, Siyabonga Nkosi, Delron Buckley, Sibusiso Zuma, Siyabonga Nomvete, Bryce Moon, Macbeth Sibaya, Mbulelo Mabizela, Sboniso Gaxa, Norman Middleton, Manqoba Brilliant Mnqithi, Inkosi Albert Luthuli, Calvin Petersen   Players from 1950-1969 Dharam Mohan (Posthumous), Thiri Rampath (Posthumous), Vusi ‘Stadig’ Makhathini (Posthumous) Selby ‘Scara Wanda (Posthumous), Joseph ‘Excellent’ Mthembu (Posthumous), VC Moodley (Posthumous), Japhta ‘Super’ Mahanjana (Posthumous), Lionel Hamiel, Cedric ‘Sugar Ray’ Xulu, Billy Reddy, Maniraj Singh, George Francis, Blondie Campbell, Matambo Marimuthoo, Senzeni Petros ‘Toto’ Zulu, Herbert ‘Shortex’ Zuma, Darius ‘Windaree’ Dhlomo, Jerry ‘Hambanje’, Alfred ‘Bomber’ Chamane, Les Salton, Remember Bophela, Sewnarain Lall, Sagren Naidoo and Adolf ‘Mbova’ Kunene.   Players 1970-1979 Henry ‘Black Cat’ Cele (Posthumous), Moren Samora Khulu (Posthumous), Moffat Zuma (Posthumous), Daya Maistry, Duda Munsami, Michael ‘Bizzah’ Dlamini, Patson ‘Sparks’ Banda, Paul Bishop, Mark Tovey, Lawrence Chelin, Basil Hollister, Dennis Wicks, Rodney Kitchen, Mafa ‘Ace’ Nduli, Abednigo ‘Shaka’ Ngcobo, Gerald ‘Mgababa’ Dlamini, Frederick ‘The Cat’ Mfeka, Kito Petros ‘Ten Ten’ Nzimande, Richard ‘Richman’ Ngubane, Brummie De Leur, Michael Moodley, Jugoo Govender, Gary Goldstone (Senior), Henry ‘Mthofi’ Khumalo, Chicken Price, Bonginkosi ‘Ace’ Mnikathi and Majuba Magwaza.   Players 1980-1996 Vusi ‘Mabhece’ Mncwango (Posthumous), Sizwe ‘Sechaba’ Motaung (Posthumous), Joe ‘Nyaka  Nyaka’ Mlaba (Posthumous), Pravesh Motheeram, Patrick Moodley, Derrick Naidoo, George Dearnaley, George Koumantarakis, Helman ‘Midnight Express’ Mkhalele, Innocent Mncwango, Fani Madida, Ms Makhosi Ruth Luthuli, Clinton Larsen, Lucky ‘Oshkosh’ Molefe, Mlungisi ‘Professor’ Ngubane, Joel ‘The Horse’ Faya, Neil ‘Mokoko’ Tovey, Bradley Muir, Mark Davies, Grant Johnson, Wade du Plessis and Buddy Govender.

Previous comments on this story...

posted: 07:02 am
Well done to the KZN Department of Sport for reminding us of the great moments that these people gave us. The one name that is missing though, amongst that list is that of Mbongeni "Mpimpi" Makhathini, who played for Union Jacks (from Lamontville) in the 1950's and 1960's and went on to play in the Netherlands.
posted: 07:40 pm
i think incorporating a 'sa football legends night'is well overdue. the only question i have is where is the man who was instrumental in breaking racial barriers in the 60's,feared goal predator and the father of one of my primary school classmates ?? - - Legend in more ways than one - - SUNNY MORGAN !
Terms of use:

The comments posted do not reflect the views of KickOff.com. Users are reminded that no misuse of this comment facility will be tolerated. Any abusive, racist, inflammatory, defamatory, discriminatory comments or hate speech will be deleted and the user banned.

If legally obliged we will hand over your information under the Protection of Information Act.

Please report abusive posts to editor@kickoff.com.