Related News

Related Club News

Hugo Broos and Hector Cuper to battle for first AFCON title

Posted: 4 February 2017 Time: 15:51

The 31st edition of the Africa Cup of Nations will be won by a coach making his maiden appearance at the tournament, with Hugo Broos and Hector Cuper taking charge of Cameroon and Egypt respectively.

Broos, who was initially not on the shortlist of five preferred by the Cameroon football federation, took the reigns in March last year after responding to an online advert for the post.

The 64-year-ol tactician has done phenomenally well in charge of a depleted Indomitable Lions squad, who arrived at this tournament minus eight players that made themselves unavailable for selection.

Whatever happens on Sunday, the Belgian will walk with pride after ending Cameroon’s nine year wait to reach the final, while pursuing the country's fifth title.

This is the Belgian’s first ever coaching job at international level, having previously enjoyed success back in his homeland.

On the opposite end is Cuper – the Argentine is in his first coaching job on the African continent, having previously had coaching stints in Spain, Italy, Georgia, Greece, Turkey and United Arab Emirates.

He now finds himself tasked with delivering The Pharaohs' eighth title.

Statistics show that 10 African coaches have guided their teams on 14 occasions to the title, with Egyptian gaffer Hassan Shehata the only man to have won it three consecutive times.

Nigerian Stephen Keshi and Egyptian Mahmoud El Gohary are the only ones to have won the title both as a player and a coach.

List of previous winners (Host country, year, winners, coach, nationality)

Sudan 1957 – Egypt (Mourad Fahmy – Egypt) 

Egypt 1959 – Egypt (Titkos – Hungary) 

Ethiopia 1962 – Ethiopia (Milosevic - Yugoslavia) 

Ghana 1963 – Ghana (C.K Gyamfi – Ghana) 

Tunisia 1965 – Ghana (C.K Gyamfi – Ghana)

Ethiopia 1968 – DR Congo (Ferenc Csanad – Hungary) 

Suddan 1970 – Sudan (Jiri Starost – Czechoslovakia) 

Cameroon 1972 – Congo (Amoyen Bibanzoulou – Congo) 

Egypt 1974 – DR Congo (Blagoje Vidinic – Yugoslavia) 

Ethiopia 1976 – Morocco (Gheorge Mardaresecu – Romania) 

Ghana 1978 – Ghana (Fred Osam-Duodu – Ghana) 

Nigeria 1980 – Nigeria (Otto Gloria – Brazil) 

Libya 1982 – Ghana (C.K Gyamfi – Ghana) 

Cote d’Ivoire 1984 – Cameroon (Rade Ognanovic – Yugoslavia) 

Egypt 1986 – Egypt (John Michael Smith – Great Britain) 

Morocco 1988 – Cameroon (Claude Leroy – France) 

Algeria 1990 – Algeria (Abelhamid Kermaly – Algeria) 

Senegal 1992 – Cote d’Ivoire (Yeo Martial – Cote d’Ivoire) 

Tunisia 1994 – Nigeria (Clemence Westerhof – Netherlands) 

South Africa 1996 – South Africa (Clive Barker – South Africa)

Burkina Faso 1998 – Egypt (Mahmoud El Gahory – Egypt) 

Ghana/Nigeria 2000 – Cameroon (Pierre Lechantre – France) 

Mali 2002 – Cameroon (Winfried Shaffer – Germany) 

Tunisia 2004 – Tunisia (Roger Lemerre – France) 

Egypt 2006 – Egypt (Hassan Shehata – Egypt) 

Ghana 2008 – Egypt (Hassan Shehata – Egypt) 

Angola 2010 – Egypt (Hassan Shehata – Egypt) 

Gabon/Equatorial Guinea 2012 – Zambia (Herve Renard – France)

South Africa 2013 – Nigeria (Stephen Keshi – Nigeria) 

Equatorial Guinea 2015 – Cote d’Ivoire (Herve Renard – France)

By Lovemore Moyo in Gabon, courtesy of SuperSport

Keep abreast with all the latest Afcon 2017 news thanks to KICK OFF's main man in Gabon, Lovemore Moyo, who will be bringing you the latest updates as they unfold!

Terms of use:

The comments posted do not reflect the views of Users are reminded that no misuse of this comment facility will be tolerated. Any abusive, racist, inflammatory, defamatory, discriminatory comments or hate speech will be deleted and the user banned.

If legally obliged we will hand over your information under the Protection of Information Act.

Please report abusive posts to