Related News

Related Club News

Baroka FC defender Mzwanele Mahashe heads the 2016 Telkom Knockout scoring list

Posted: 9 December 2016 Time: 20:55

Baroka FC defender Mzwanele Mahashe still heads the 2016 Telkom Knockout goalscorers charts heading into Saturday’s final between SuperSport United and Cape Town City at the Peter Mokaba Stadium in Polokwane.

Mahashe has scored three times in this year’s competition, but his Baroka side were ousted from the competition in the quarterfinals and has been unable to add to his tally.

One goal back is City’s Sibusiso Masina, the only other player in the Telkom Knockout to score more than once this year.

But another seven players from Cape Town City have got a single goal in the competition, a sign of how the club have shared the scoring responsibility around this season.

Amazingly, SuperSport have reached the final with only one goal scored by one of their players! Thabo Mnyamane netted the winner against Orlando Pirates in the semifinals.

Before that an own goal from Ajax Cape Town’s Eric Chipeta saw them past the Last 16, before they defeated Mamelodi Sundowns on penalties following a 0-0 draw in the quarterfinals.


3 goals – Mzwanele Mahashe (Baroka FC)

2 – Sibusiso Masina (Cape Town City)

1 – Edmore Chirambadare (Kaizer Chiefs), Sthembiso Dlamini (Free State Stars), Bhongolwethu Jayiya (Cape Town City), Wayde Jooste (Lamontville Golden Arrows), Hlompho Kekana (Mamelodi Sundowns), Daine Klate (BidVest Wits), Lehlohonolo Majoro (Cape Town City), Mpho Makola (Orlando Pirates), Lebogang Manyama (Cape Town City), Given Mashikinya (Cape Town City), Eric Mathoho (Kaizer Chiefs), Mpho Matsi (Cape Town City), Collins Mbesuma (Highlands Park), Luvuyo Memela (Orlando Pirates), Thabo Mnyamane (SuperSport UNited), Mathari Mothupa (Baroka FC), Jacky Motshegwa (Baroka FC), Marshall Munetsi (Baroka FC), Mothobi Mvala (Highlands Park), Tendai Ndoro (Orlando Pirates), Aubrey Ngoma (Cape Town City), Thuso Phala (SuperSport United), Roland Putsche (Cape Town City), Moeketsi Sekola (Free State Stars), Thokozani Sekotlong (Free State Stars), Sipho Senne (Platinum Stars), Edwin Sitayitayi (Highlands Park), Bokang Thlone (Free State Stars), Danny Venter (Free State Stars), Themba Zwane (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Own goals – Kabelo Mahlasela (Bloemfontein Celtic), Augustine Mbara (Highlands Park)

Article by: Staff Reporter
Terms of use:

The comments posted do not reflect the views of Users are reminded that no misuse of this comment facility will be tolerated. Any abusive, racist, inflammatory, defamatory, discriminatory comments or hate speech will be deleted and the user banned.

If legally obliged we will hand over your information under the Protection of Information Act.

Please report abusive posts to