Gift Motupa credited with Tendai Ndoro’s goal against Aces on 21 February
Posted: 29 February 2016 Time: 14:08
The controversial PSL goal decisions continue after Gift Motupa was credited with Tendai Ndoro’s first goal against Black Aces last week.
Last Monday I wrote a story about the PSL making the correct decision to credit Ndoro with a brace in their game against Aces on 21 February.
Ndoro was reported to have scored both goals, and this was announced as ‘according to the officials’ by the SuperSport commentators during the match and by Ndoro himself after the game. “It’s a brace, the referee has confirmed it’s a brace,” the striker said.
However, Motupa also claimed the goal, saying: “Tendai passed the ball … I got a small touch, that’s all I can say [laughing]!”
TV replays showed no conclusive touch from Motupa, nor did professional video coding from ProZone, KickOff.com’s performance data partner.
But such is the nature of the PSL that we have to accept that nothing is as official as the referee’s actual match reports that are provided approximately 48 hours after the games finish.
In referee Victor Gomes’ report for that match (see screenshot below), the goal has been officially been awarded to Motupa (registration number 1617; Ndoro is 2838).
Official Report Black Aces vs Orlando Pirates
Ironically, when I wrote last week that a dubious goals panel needs to be set up to assist PSL match officials with situations such as this one, it was after what we all thought was the correct decision to award Ndoro a brace.
Turns out, it was not ironic as it was yet another ‘debatable’ one. To see other ‘debatable’ decisions this season and the call for a dubious goals panel, read this.
The goal is Motupa’s first of the season for Pirates. Ndoro’s 87th-minute strike in the Aces game was also his first of the season.