Kermit Erasmus credited with Chippa United goal
Posted: 19 August 2015 Time: 13:31
Kermit Erasmus has been credited with Orlando Pirates’ second goal against Chippa United last night, despite evidence to the contrary.
Referee Victor Gomes – who somewhat harshly dismissed Nigerian midfielder Ugonna Uzochukwu for a second yellow card in the second half – has credited Erasmus with the 69th-minute goal, which TV replays showed was an own-goal by either Daylan Hawes or Nkosinathi Mthiyane.
REPORT: Bucs batter 10-man Chilli Boys
This is perfect case to back up the call for higher standards of analysis in the PSL, as something as simple as a replay could retrospectively have awarded the goal to the correct player.
The Premier League in England sought to eradicate incorrect decisions in their League by setting up the Dubious Goals Panel, which can retrospectively overturn decisions when there is significant doubt.
The PSL did not explain their reasoning for the decision, and only released a statement saying: “The second goal by Orlando Pirates in their Absa Premiership fixture against Chippa United at the Orlando Stadium last night has been credited by the referee to Orlando Pirates striker Kermit Erasmus.”
It is believed that because the ball was heading towards goal and the goalkeeper only made an initial save (tried to keep it out), that the attacking player was awarded the goal.
However, a clear argument can be made that the ball had been saved, would not have crossed the line, and only did so because of another touch from Hawes or Mthiyane that diverted the direction of the ball over line.
PSL media officer Luxolo September commented on Twitter: “The PSL does not rule on this. It's the Referee's (final) decision.”
KickOff.com’s efforts to get a proper explanation from the PSL proved futile, but either way the referee’s decision stands.