1 - 0
(0 - 0)
Lucas Moripe Stadium
26/04/2015 15:00

Related News

Related Club News

Nedbank Cup Mamelodi Sundowns vs Vasco Da Gama

Posted: 26 April 2015 Time: 15:05

Vasco da Gama were made to pay for their missed chances as Mamelodi Sundowns secured a 1-0 win at the Lucas Moripe Stadium on Sunday to book their place in the Nedbank Cup final.


Mzikayise Mashaba's second-half goal was enough to secure Sundowns' place in the showpiece against Ajax Cape Town, who beat SuperSport United in the first semifinal.

After what was a rather substandard start to the game, Vasco eventually conjured up the first chance through Ndivwe Mdabuka with 15 minutes on the clock. 

The Vasco midfielder found himself in some space before firing at goal from range,Kennedy Mweene though was up to the challenge to clear the danger. 

The visitors continued to dominate proceedings with 'Downs struggling to find their rhythm and break down a determined Vasco defensive line. 

Jonathan Armogam and Aleni Lebyane squandered further chances for the Parow-based club, with Armogam sending his chipped effort just wide of Mweene's goal in the 37th minute. 

Vasco continued where they left off after the break and should have had the opener in the 56th minute.

Armogam found himself with a clear view of goal, following a mistake by Mweene, but the former Santos man dragged his effort wide with just a defender on the line to beat. 

Mashaba made Vasco pay soon after with the utility player powering an unstoppable left-footed drive passed Steven Hoffman, into the top corner in the 59th minute, with what was the Brazilians' first shot at goal.  

Hoffman was then forced into his first save in the 81st minute to keep out Khama Billiat, who slipped in behind the Vasco defence. 

In the end the National First Division outfit came up just short as 'Downs booked their place in next month's final which will be played at the Nelson Mandela Stadium on the 16th of May.

Man of the Match: Siyanda Zwane.

Mamelodi Sundowns XI: Mweene, Langerman, S.Zwane, Mphahlele, Schut (Nthethe 80'), Modise, Kekana, Malajila (Zungu 61'), Mbatha (Laffor 51'), Billiat, Mashaba.

Vasco Da Gama XI: Hoffman, Shellar, Gertse, De Goede, Mxoyana, Karkee, Armogam (Mthembu 71'), Wambi, Mdabuka, Julies (Muishond 80'), Lebyane (Smith 78').

Terms of use:

The comments posted do not reflect the views of KickOff.com. Users are reminded that no misuse of this comment facility will be tolerated. Any abusive, racist, inflammatory, defamatory, discriminatory comments or hate speech will be deleted and the user banned.

If legally obliged we will hand over your information under the Protection of Information Act.

Please report abusive posts to editor@kickoff.com.