4 - 0
Dobsonville Stadium
02/08/2014 15:30

Amajimbos thump Tanzania

Posted: 2 August 2014 Time: 17:35

Amajimbos are through to the final qualifying round of the African Youth Championships (AYC) with a thumping 4-0 victory over Tanzania at Dobsonville Stadium on Saturday afternoon.

Goals from Edwin Sekhwama, a brace from substitute Khanyisa Mayo and a late goal from Thendo Mukumela ensured a victory for the Molefi Ntseki-coached side.

It was a deserved win for the Under-17s, who looked fired up from the word go and had they been more ruthless, especially in the first half, they could have registered a huge victory.

With the very first attack of the game, Edwin Sekhwama broke clear and tapped the ball into an empty net from a tight angle to give Amajimbos a dream start.


After the goal, Ntseki’s boys then literally camped in Tanzania’s half but at times lacked composure to kill off the match in the opening minutes.

In the 22nd minute Sekhwama missed an open goal when it appeared easier to score. Seconds later, Tanzania goalkeeper Metach Mnata was forced to make a good save as Amajimbos swarmed the visitors’ goal.

Tanzania came back into the second half trying desperately to come back into the game and forced a few anxious moments for the home team.

They hit the crossbar in the 10th minute of the second half, before Seif Seif forced a brilliant save from Amajimbos keeper Mondli Mpoto.

As Tanzania threw bodies up-front, they were caught on a counter-attack with Mayo scoring a great goal, finishing off a cross from the right to make it 2-0.

Mayo then made it 3-0 with another break away attack and the visitors looked dead and buried.

Thando Mukumela then sealed a huge victory with a goal in the 90th min to make the final score 4-0.

Amajimbos will now meet the winner between Congo-Brazzaville and Egypt for a place in the Championships finals scheduled for Niger next year in March/April.


South Africa: Mondli Mpoto, Katlego Mohamme, Notha Ngcobo, Manoke Noge, Themba Nzimande, Thendo Mukumela, Keanu Cupido, Athenkosi Dlala, Nelson Maluleke,  Sibongakonke Mbatha, Edwin Sekhwama

Tanzania: Metacha Mnata, Issa Majira, Martin Luseke, Adolf Bitegeko, Prospal Mushi, Seif Seif, Omary Wayne, Athanas Madamu, Abdulrasul Bitebo, Baraka Baraka, Omary Omary 

Article by: SAFA Media

Related News

View comments