Related News

Related Club News

Igesund releases Bafana Bafana squad for Chan African Nations Championship

Posted: 23 December 2013 Time: 15:27

South Africa coach Gordon Igesund has named his 23-man squad for the African Nations Championship, with notably no Orlando Pirates in the mix.

Bafana Bafana skipper Itumeleng Khune will lead the nation once again, while Bidvest Wits goalkeeper Moeneeb Josephs has earned a recall for the event, taking place on home soil from January 11 to February 1.

Platinum Stars captain Vuyo Mere, who has 10 caps, is also back in the fold following his starring displays for the MTN8 and Telkom Knockout holders.

The right-back's Dikwena teammates Siyabonga Mpontshane, Lindokuhle Mbatha and Tsepo Gumede will likewise be eager to make an impact on the international stage. 

Mamelodi Sundowns have contributed heavily to the cause in the shape of Tebogo Langerman, Jabu Shongwe, Hlompho Kekana, Katlego Mashego, Bryce Moon and Edward Manqele, with the latter currently on loan at Moroka Swallows.

Besides Khune, Premiership champions Chiefs have also made Bafana regulars Tsepo Masilela, Reneilwe Letsholonyane, Siphiwe Tshabalala and Bernard Parker available for the competition, as well as in-form centre-back Tefu Mashamaite.

Swallows playmaker Lerato Chabangu, Bloemfontein Celtic stalwart Thabo Nthethe, University of Pretoria defender Buhle Mkhwanazi and Wits trio Sibusiso Vilakazi, Kwanda Mngonyama and Ryan Chapman - in addition to Josephs - complete Igesund's range of options.

Pirates, who boast local stars such as Thabo Matlaba, Oupa Manyisa and Kermit Erasmus on their books, have chosen not to release their players, as is their right as the tournament falls outside of the Fifa calendar.

The Premier Soccer League have scheduled five Premiership games during the showpiece, with Chiefs, Pirates, Sundowns, SuperSport United, Ajax Cape Town and AmaZulu the affected parties.

Bafana squad for Chan:

Goalkeepers: Itumeleng Khune, Moeneeb Josephs, Siyabonga Mpontshane.

Defenders: Tefu Mashamaite, Tsepo Gumede, Thabo Nthethe, Tebogo Langerman, Vuyo Mere, Bryce Moon,  Buhle Mkhwanazi, Kwanda Mngonyama, Tsepo Masilela.

Midfielders: Hlompho Kekana, Reneilwe Letsholonyane, Lerato Chabangu, Siphiwe Tshabalala, Sibusiso Vilakazi, Jabu Shongwe, Lindokuhle Mbatha, Ryan Chapman.

Forwards: Bernard Parker, Edward Manqele, Katlego Mashego.

What do you make of the squad, have your say on or Twitter @KickOffmagazine!

Terms of use:

The comments posted do not reflect the views of Users are reminded that no misuse of this comment facility will be tolerated. Any abusive, racist, inflammatory, defamatory, discriminatory comments or hate speech will be deleted and the user banned.

If legally obliged we will hand over your information under the Protection of Information Act.

Please report abusive posts to