1 - 2
20/07/2013 13:00
0 - 0 on aggregate

Bafana earn Cosafa bronze

Posted: 20 July 2013 Time: 13:10

Bafana Bafana beat Lesotho in the Cosafa Cup third/fourth place play-off at Levy Mwanawasa Stadium on Saturday.

Maile Tlale opened the scoring for Lesotho through a penalty, but Mandla Masango equalised before half-time, and Hlompho Kekana got the winner in the second half.

Bafana looked more lively than their neighbours as the match kicked off, and came close to opening the scoring twice inside the first five minutes, but despite Lesotho’s shaky defence the scoreline remained 0-0.

Mzikayise Mashaba had a chance to open the scoring, after some nice work by Lerato Chabangu, but he was denied by goalkeeper Phasumane Kholuoe.


Lesotho were in handed a penalty

In the 20th minute the referee adjudged Thulani Hlatshwayo to have brought down Thapela Tale in the box, and Maile Tlali sent Wayne Sandilands the wrong way with his penalty kick as Bafana conceded just their second goal of the tournament.

Lebogang Manyama and Chabangu tried to get one back as Bafana continued to dominate, before Masango had a weak shot cleared off the line.

Just before half-time Bafana got their goal, with Masango hitting home from outside the box, finishing of a training ground set-piece initiated by Chabangu.

On 53 minutes Kekana outran his marked and finished clinically past Kholuoe.

Lesotho were awarded another penalty in the second half after Buhle Mkhwanazi handled the ball in the box, but this time Sandilands made a good save to deny Tlali his second from the spot.

Edward Manqele could have made it three from Bafana in the final minutes of the match, but he could not convert.

South Africa XI: Wayne Sandilands, Tshepo Gumede, Thulani Hlatshwayo, Hlompho Kekana, Buhle Mkhwanazi, Lerato Chabangu, Mandla Masango, Lebogang Manyama, Siyabona Mpontshane, Mzikayise Mashaba, Lehlohonolo Nonyane

Lesotho XI: Phasumane Kholuoe, Mokhahlane Ralekoti, Maile Tlale, Molibeli Janefeke, Thapelo Tale, Katleho Moleko, Koetle Tsoanelo, Thabo Masualle, Bushy Moletsane, Jeremia Kamela, Lerotholi Nkau

What do you think of th team? Let us know on Facebook!

Related News

View comments