2 - 1
Soccer City Stadium
04/05/2013 20:15

Chiefs through to Nedbank Cup Final

Posted: 4 May 2013 Time: 22:13

Kaizer Chiefs booked their place in the 2013 Nedbank Cup Final with a 2-1 win over a spirited United FC side at FNB Stadium on Saturday evening.

The Premiership leaders stayed on course to win the double this season thanks to first half goals from Lehlohonolo Majoro and George Lebese. United FC’s goal was scored from the penalty spot by Walter Maponyane.

United FC attempted to unsettle Amakhosi early on but instead conceded a goal in the fifth minute of the match.

Bernard Parker got on the end of a great through ball over the top of the Vultures’ defence from Siphiwe Tshabalala before squaring the ball to Majoro who tapped in from close range.


Amakhosi extended their lead 19 minutes later when Majoro’s shot from just outside the area rattled the crossbar and the post before falling favourably for Lebese, who nodded home past Bongani Mpandle.

United nearly pulled one back in the 32nd minute, when Thabo Makgothi was disposessed brilliantly by Itumeleng Khune before Willard Katsande cleared a Siyabulela Shai effort off the line.

Chiefs deservedly went into the break two goals to the good. The Soweto giants created the better chances of the half despite United enjoying the lion’s share of the possession.

Majoro had a great opportunity to complete his brace in the 54th minute of the game, when he got on the end of a through ball from Parker but could not hit the target with only the keeper to beat.

Vultures captain Maponyane scored from the penalty spot in the 81st minute of the game after Tefu Mashamaite was adjudged to have pulled a United FC player’s shirt inside the area. Maponyane converted confidently from the spot to make for a high pressure final few minutes.

However, Amakhosi’s defence stood tall, and they will face either Platinum Stars or SuperSport United in the Final.

Dikwena and Matsatsantsa clash in Rustenburg on Wednesday.

Kaizer Chiefs: Khune, Gaxa, Zvasiya, Masilela, Katsande, Mashamaite, Letsholonyane (Nkosi 71), Tshabalala, Majoro, Lebese (Nkhatha 79), Parker

United FC: Mpandle, Ledwaba, Lichaba, Komane, Maponyane, Wambi (Madolo 67), Bereng, Shai, Mvelase (Mahlaba 82), Lekata, Makgothi (Makudubela 61)

Related News

View comments