1 - 2
Loftus Versveld Stadium
14/04/2013 15:00

Dikwena knock Downs out of Nedbank Cup

Posted: 14 April 2013 Time: 15:55

A late goal from Robert Ng'ambi sends Platinum Stars through to the Nedbank Cup semi-finals at the expense of Mamelodi Sundowns.

The clash started off slowly as both sides tried to settle into the encounter.

Sundowns captain Teko Modise sent great balls in for Edward Manqele and Wayne Arendse in the first 20 minutes of the match but both players were unable to find the back of the net with only the keeper to beat.

Modise thought he had grabbed the opener 10 minutes before the break when he hit home from six yards out, but he was rightfully adjudged offside.


Both sides tightened things up at the back thereafter as they looked to see out the half.

Dikwena came out the stronger of the two sides after the break, and won a free-kick from the kick-off. 

Thuso Phala’s delivery evaded everyone before falling to an to an unmarked Tintswalo Tshabalala at the far post. The midfielder looked certain to score but Wayne Sandilands was up to the task.

Downs supporters were on their feet pleading with Pitso Mosimane to substitute Modise when he pounced brilliantly on a loose ball in the box and slotted it into the back of the net, proving the naysayers wrong.

Second half substitute Richard Henyekane nearly doubled Downs’ lead in the 67th minute of the game, when he ran past the entire Dikwena back four before striking at goal. Siyabonga Mpontshane was rooted to his spot but luckily for him the ball only managed to rattle the post.

Stars got the equaliser when Phala headed home from close range after a great cross by Vuyo Mere.

Robert Ng’ambi got the winner three minutes from time, when he netted from a meter out to secure a semi-final berth for the Rustenburg outfit.

Platinum Stars join SuperSport United, United FC and Kaizer Chiefs in the semi-finals of the competition.

The loss means Sundowns will have to wait till next season to end their trophy drought. The Tshwane outfit last won a trophy in 2008.

Related News

View comments