Uzbekistan referee Ravshan Irmatov

Related News

Related Club News

Why Irmatov's call was correct

Why Ravshan Irmatov's call was correct

Posted: 14 June 2010 Time: 5:25 pm

Uzbekistan referee Ravshan Irmatov's call to disallow an effort by Mexico's Carlos Vela in their match against South Africa in a 2010 World Cup tie at Soccer City on Friday was the correct one.

Many of the world's media have said that Irmatov's call was a blunder because Steven Pienaar was standing on the line behind Itumeleng Khune, however the ref's decision has been justified with a comprehensive explanation of the rule.

According to a specialist in the world of football referees and the interpretation of the laws governing the game the referee was right to disallow Vela's goal.

"When showing replays, commentators pointed out and graphics demonstrated that there was a South Africa defender (Pienaar,) positioned on the back post -whom they claimed kept Vela onside," the specialist explains.

"It's true that Pienaar was there, and just behind Vela, where he stood by the opposite post. But the crux of matter was the position of Khune, not Pienaar.

"Khune had run off his line to try and intercept the corner kick, leaving Pienaar as the last defender in front of the goal.

"Now comes the crucial point. The offside rule reads that a player is offside if he is ‘nearer to his opponents' goal line than both the ball and the second-last opponent (the last opponent typically being the goalkeeper).

"Usually when an attacking player runs past the ‘last defender,' the goalkeeper remains in the net - meaning the ‘last' defender is really the second-to-last defender. In the case of Friday's game, Khune was not there behind the defence.

"The second Vela passed Khune in the middle of the box, he was offside, regardless of Pienaar's position at the post.

"It was an intelligent call from the referee and his assistant in a complicated demonstration of a complicated rule," he adds.

Article by: AN Other

Previous comments on this story...

The Soccer Coach
posted: 08:22 pm
I always recommend that our soccer commentators attend coaching courses which include the laws of the game. This ensures that when they formulate opinions, they formulate them based on facts using the laws of the game as a guideline.

The coaching courses further ensure match evaluations are done using the correct terminology and proper opinions are deducted from these evaluations.

I can go on but my point is that this should not have been an issue at all if we had observers who are not fans but provide non-biased and non-emotive match reporting and assessments.
Anonymous
posted: 07:50 am
I was watching the game on SS3 and they agreed with the ref, so no problem them from SS commentators!!!
Any who I thought everyone who follows soccer knew that if the keeper is off his post into the field the defender behind him is like a goal keeper in terms of the offside..(well that is how we used to explain it)
Dave10
posted: 08:39 am
Stonza: 2010-06-15 07:50

Uyibeka Kahle Stonza, this mampara commentators are and embarrassment, i wont mention them by names but they know themselves. it is a shame when people want to write about subject they do not themselves understand!
Anonymous
posted: 11:11 am
The commentary team on Supersport agreed with the decision immediately....
Terms of use:

The comments posted do not reflect the views of KickOff.com. Users are reminded that no misuse of this comment facility will be tolerated. Any abusive, racist, inflammatory, defamatory, discriminatory comments or hate speech will be deleted and the user banned.

If legally obliged we will hand over your information under the Protection of Information Act.

Please report abusive posts to editor@kickoff.com.