Provisional Banyana squad for AFCON

Posted: 18 October 2018 Time: 01:54 pm

Banyana Banyana coach Desiree Ellis has named a provisional squad of 31 players for the Women’s African Nations Cup, taking place in Ghana from November 17 to December 1.

The top three finishers at the tournament will represent Africa at the Women's World Cup in France in June next year.

Banyana, the COSAFA Women’s Championship title holders, recently returned from a trip to Chile where they lost 2-1 and drew 2-2 with the South Americans.

“We have brought in players that have been part of our core group for a while now, and those we have been monitoring over a period of time. The training camp will focus mainly on improving team cohesion and fitness, while at the same time also keeping an eye on the new players,” said Ellis.

“We have now reached the business end of the year where the planning has to be meticulous as we are edging closer to the tournament.”

Among those getting a recall are: Yolula Tsawe, Mamello Makhabane (both JVW FC), Hilda Magaia, Jabulile Mazibuko (both TUT-PTA), Siyamthanda Skeyi (Thunderbirds) and Amogelang Motau (Oral Roberts University – USA).

The players will assemble for camp on Sunday in Johannesburg, but they will be without Finland-based striker Ode Fulutudilu who was called up but declined due to club commitments.

Striker Sduduzo Dlamini of Sunflower FC in Durban has taken the place of Fulutudilu, who featured off the bench in the rematch with Chile.

Ellis will trim the squad down to 21 players on Friday.

Provisional Squad:

1. Andile Dlamini Mamelodi Sundowns FC Pretoria
2. Kaylin Swart Menlo College/Awaiting Int Transfer Port Elizabeth
3. Roxanne Barker University of Western Cape Cape Town
4. Yolula Tsawe JVW FC Johannesburg
5. Lebogang Ramalepe Ma-Indies FC Polokwane
6. Nothando Vilakazi Palace Super Falcons FC Johannesburg
7. Janine Van Wyk Houston Dash/Awaiting Int Transfer USA/Johannesburg
8. Noko Matlou Ma-Indies FC Polokwane
9. Bambanani Mbane Bloemfontein Celtic FC Bloemfontein
10. Regina Mogolola University of Pretoria Pretoria
11. Tiisetso Makhubela Mamelodi Sundowns FC Pretoria
12.  Thato Letsoso University of Johannesburg Johannesburg
13. Koketso Tlailane TUT-PTA Pretoria
14. Kgaelebane Mohlakoana Bloemfontein Celtic Bloemfontein
15. Refiloe Jane Canberra United Australia
16. Rachel Sebati TUT-PTA Pretoria
17. Mamello Makhabane JVW FC Johannesburg
18. Sduduzo Dlamini Sunflower FC Durban
19. Leandra Smeda Gintra Universitetas Lithuania
20. Nompumelelo Nyandeni JVW FC Johannesburg
21. Linda Motlhalo Houston Dash USA
22. Kholosa Biyana University of KZN Durban
23. Hildah Magaia TUT-PTA Pretoria
24. Jabulile Mazibuko TUT-PTA Pretoria
25. Siyamthanda Skeyi Thunderbirds FC East London
26. Khanya Xesi University Western Cape Cape Town
27, Amogelang Motau Oral Roberts University USA
28. Jermaine Seoposenwe JVW FC Johannesburg
29. Thembi Kgatlana Houston Dash USA
30. Melinda Kgadiete Bloemfontein Celtic Bloemfontein
31. Amanda Mthandi University of Johannesburg Johannesburg
Article by: Staff Reporter

Related News

Terms of use:

The comments posted do not reflect the views of Users are reminded that no misuse of this comment facility will be tolerated. Any abusive, racist, inflammatory, defamatory, discriminatory comments or hate speech will be deleted and the user banned.

If legally obliged we will hand over your information under the Protection of Information Act.

Please report abusive posts to