1 - 1
Peter Mokaba Stadium
23/02/2019 15:30

Related News

Related Club News

Absa Premiership match report Polokwane City v Kaizer Chiefs 23 February 2019

Posted: 23 February 2019 Time: 13:28

Kaizer Chiefs and Polokwane City settled for a share of the spoils after playing to a 1-1 draw in the Absa Premiership on Saturday afternoon.

Chiefs coach Ernst Middendorp made four changes in Daniel Akpeyi, Siphosakhe Ntiya-Ntiya, Philani Zulu and Khama Billiat, while City made just two in Sibusiso Mbonani and Nicholas Motloung.

From their first attack, Chiefs went ahead when Daniel Cardoso sent George Chigova the wrong way from the penalty spot after a handball from Nicholas Motloung on 14 minutes.

The Amakhosi quickly searched for a second when a threatening right-footed curler from Billiat caught the finger-tips of Chigova.

Then, out of nowhere Walter Musona’s long-range shot crept underneath Daniel Akpeyi to give Polokwane the equaliser on 21 minutes, much to the surprise of the supporters.

Ekstein closed in on restoring the lead after racing through on goal, but a timeous challenge from Motloung kept him at bay, while the Chiefs midfielder squandered another opening just before the break.

Chiefs coach Ernst Middendorp changed his stall in the second half with the arrival of Ramahlwe Mphahlele for Zulu in the earlier exchanges.

The right-back’s impact was positive, as his overlapping runs and crosses forced the hosts to relentless defending for most of the second half.

Unlike the first half, chances on either end were reduced to a premium but a header from Zuma forced Chigova to tip over the attempt in the final 15 minutes.

Neither side could find a winning goal in the latter stages of the half, as the encounter finished 1-1 at the Peter Mokaba Stadium.

The result leaves both sides top eight priorities in jeopardy, Chiefs switch focus to Highlands Park while Polokwane do battle with Baroka FC in the Limpopo derby.


Polokwane: Chigova, Mbonani, Phiri, Hlongwane, Motloung, Maluleke, Mvelase, Seabi, Mashumba, Musona, Booi.

Subs: Anas, Manaka, Mngomezulu, Sikhosana, Mphambaniso, Phali, Maponyane.

Chiefs: Akpeyi, Moleko, Hadebe, Cardoso, Ntyiya-Ntiya, Ntshangase, Maluleka, Ekstein, Zulu, Parker, Billiat.

Subs: Bvuma, Ngezana, Adrianarimanana, Mphahlele, Frosler, Zuma, Moon.

Article by: Staff Reporter
Terms of use:

The comments posted do not reflect the views of KickOff.com. Users are reminded that no misuse of this comment facility will be tolerated. Any abusive, racist, inflammatory, defamatory, discriminatory comments or hate speech will be deleted and the user banned.

If legally obliged we will hand over your information under the Protection of Information Act.

Please report abusive posts to editor@kickoff.com.