Golden Arrows
  • Sibusiso Sibeko (22)
  • Lerato Lamola (30)
  • Kudakwashe Mahachi (38)
3 - 1
(3 - 0)
Princess Magogo
12/03/2017 15:00
Referee: Victor Gomes
Maritzburg United
  • (65) Lebohang Maboe

Related News

Related Club News

Nedbank Cup last-32 match report Golden Arrows vs Maritzburg United

Posted: 12 March 2017 Time: 14:41

Golden Arrows inflicted a second successive KwaZulu-Natal Derby defeat on Martizburg United as Clinton Larsen’s side earned a 3-1 win in the Nedbank Cup last-32 on Sunday.

It looked like history was to repeat itself at Princess Magogo Stadium midway through the first-half as Arrows took the lead, Sibusiso Sibeko the scorer for Abafana Bes’thende.

The Team of Choice almost found a response midway through the first-half but Deolin Mekoa saw his fierce strike expertly turned away by Nkosingiphile Gumede.

However, Arrows were soon two goals to the good as Lerato Lamola received the ball in the area before turning smartly and firing home past the goalkeeper.

The hosts would eventually take a 3-0 lead into the break thanks to Kudakwashe Mahachi, who coolly rounded off a brilliant piece of attacking play from Larsen’s men.

Maritzburg weren’t to be completely outdone in the second-half and cut the deficit to two goals with 66 minutes gone, Lebohang Maboe managing to bag one against United’s nemesis, although it proved too little, too late for the Team of Choice.

Article by: Staff Reporter

HOME: Golden Arrows

Coach: Clinton Larsen
Formation: 4-4-2

  • 32 Nkosingiphile Gumede
  • 14 Siyabonga Dube
  • 20 Matome Mathiane
  • 21 Nkanyiso Mngwengwe
  • 28 Musa Bilankulu
  • 11 Kudakwashe Mahachi
  • 13 Nkosinathi Mthiyane
  • 25 Nduduzo Sibiya
  • 19 Knox Mutizwa
    64 mins - Thabo Molefe
  • 22 Sibusiso Sibeko
    62 mins - Velemseni Ndwandwe
  • 41 Lerato Lamola
    87 mins - Nkosinathi Sibisi

AWAY: Maritzburg United

Coach: Roger de Sa
Formation: 4-5-1

  • 30 Virgil Vries
  • 5 Denis Weidlich
    68 mins - Andrea Fileccia
  • 16 Bevan Fransman
  • 45 Kwanda Mngonyama
  • 13 Fortune Makaringe
  • 15 Lebohang Maboe
    84 mins - Bryce Moon
  • 26 Bandile Shandu
    46 mins - Devon Saal
  • 28 Deolin Mekoa
  • 29 Kurt Lentjies
  • 37 Siphesihle Ndlovu
  • 19 Evans Rusike

Note: LIVEFYRE is CLOSING DOWN. Adobe have decided to close down the LiveFyre comments system from 9 March 2017. We advise that all users switch to using the new Disqus comment system as soon as possible to ensure a smooth transition.

Terms of use:

The comments posted do not reflect the views of Users are reminded that no misuse of this comment facility will be tolerated. Any abusive, racist, inflammatory, defamatory, discriminatory comments or hate speech will be deleted and the user banned.

If legally obliged we will hand over your information under the Protection of Information Act.

Please report abusive posts to