0 - 0
(0 - 0)
Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium
11/09/2016 15:00
Referee: Phillip Tinyani

Related News

Related Club News

MTN8 semi-final first leg Chippa United Mamelodi Sundowns report

Posted: 11 September 2016 Time: 14:18

Chippa United and Mamelodi Sundowns played to a goalless draw in the first leg of their MTN8 semi-final at Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium on Sunday afternoon.

While there was decent football on display by both sides, there were few genuine chances in Port Elizabeth.

Sundowns playmaker Khama Billiat threatened midway through the first stanza but his snap-shot from the edge of the area was comfortably gathered by goalkeeper Daniel Akpeyi.

Downs defender Ricardo Nascimento also came close just before the recess, heading a free-kick from the right by Billiat across the face of goal.

The Chilli Boys showed intent straight after the interval as Buyani Sali squeezed an effort off-target before Thembinkosi Lorch had a shot deflected narrowly wide.

At the other end, Brazilians debutant Yannick Zakri thumped a powerful strike inches wide in the 53rd minute, moments after replacing Percy Tau.

The hosts nearly responded with interest 20 minutes later as Lorch's attempt from 25 yards drew a fine save from Denis Onyango.

Neither team could ultimately break the deadlock in an otherwise entertaining affair.

The return duel is set for Loftus Versveld Stadium on September 21, with the victor likely to face Bidvest Wits in the final.

Wits humbled Cape Town City 3-0 at Bidvest Stadium on Saturday night.

Article by: Staff Reporter

HOME: Chippa United

Coach: Dan Malesela
Formation: 4-5-1

  • 1 Daniel Akpeyi
  • 2 James Okwuosa
  • 4 Marc van Heerden
  • 24 Diamond Thopola
  • 40 Bongani Kama
  • 5 Mbulelo Wambi
  • 6 Buyani Sali
    90+1 mins - Menzi Masuku
  • 21 Thamsanqa Sangweni
  • 29 Thembinkosi Lorch
  • 10 Andile Mbenyane
  • 19 Rhulani Manzini
    46 mins - Tshwarelo Bereng

AWAY: Mamelodi Sundowns

Coach: Pitso Mosimane
Formation: 4-2-3-1

  • 36 Denis Onyango
  • 4 Tebogo Langerman
  • 6 Wayne Arendse
  • 16 Ricardo Nascimento
  • 21 Siyanda Zwane
  • 7 Keagan Dolly (Montpellier)
  • 8 Hlompho Kekana
    71 mins - Lucky Mohomi
  • 33 Tiyani Mabunda
  • 20 Khama Billiat
  • 23 Sibusiso Vilakazi
    80 mins - Thapelo Morena
  • 35 Percy Tau
    53 mins - Yannick Zakri

Note: LIVEFYRE is CLOSING DOWN. Adobe have decided to close down the LiveFyre comments system from 9 March 2017. We advise that all users switch to using the new Disqus comment system as soon as possible to ensure a smooth transition.

Terms of use:

The comments posted do not reflect the views of KickOff.com. Users are reminded that no misuse of this comment facility will be tolerated. Any abusive, racist, inflammatory, defamatory, discriminatory comments or hate speech will be deleted and the user banned.

If legally obliged we will hand over your information under the Protection of Information Act.

Please report abusive posts to editor@kickoff.com.