0 - 4
(0 - 2)
Cape Town Stadium
13/12/2016 19:30
Referee: Victor Hlungwani
Platinum Stars
  • (4) Isaac Nhlapo
  • (10) Tintswalo Tshabalala
  • (76) Bongi Ntuli
  • (82) Ndumiso Mabena

Related News

Related Club News

Cape Town City Platinum Stars PSL Absa Premiership match report

Posted: 13 December 2016 Time: 17:49

Cape Town City's expected Telkom Knockout hangover appeared to be in full effect as they were thumped 4-0 by Platinum Stars in the Absa Premiership on Tuesday night.

Isaac Nhlapo gave Dikwena an early lead, stooping low to head in Ndumiso Mabena's inswinging free-kick after just four minutes had elapsed, with the Telkom Knockout winners still clearly suffering the after-effects of their cup success.

Stars' lead was doubled just five minutes later as Dikwena, desperate to turn around a disappointing start to the season, netted a second as Tintswalo Tshabalala scored in almost the same fashion after a deft outside-foot pass from Mabena.

City had a goal disallowed for a foul on Stars keeper Mbongeni Mzimela on 20 minutes, with Austrian Roland Putsche disappointed to see his header chalked off.

Then Bongi Ntuli added a third for Stars with the easiest of goals in the 76th minute, running onto Vuyo Mere's pass, beating the last defender Tshepo Gumede with a good touch and then rounding Shi-Aib Walters.

The lively Mabena put the cherry on top with a fourth goal to add to his two assists in the 82nd minute, perfectly controlling a switch-pass across field from Tshabalala on the left touchline, taking two touches and slotting in off the post.

Joseph Adjei rounded off a terrible night for the new League Cup champions with his second yellow card and a dismissal just before full-time.

To add insult to injury, at least City's embarrassment was not witnessed by many as there were probably a maximium of 500 supporters in attendance at Athlone Stadium.

Article by: Staff Reporter

HOME: Cape Town City

Coach: Eric Tinkler
Formation: 4-2-3-1

  • 31 Shu-Aib Walters
  • 0 Joseph Adjei
  • 4 Vincent Kobola
  • 27 Tshepo Gumede
  • 7 Matthew Sim
    46 mins - Judas Moseamedi
  • 10 Bongolethu Jayiya
    58 mins - Given Mashikinya
  • 11 Aubrey Ngoma
  • 19 Roland Putsche
    58 mins - Mpho Matsi
  • 21 Lebogang Manyama
  • 21 Thato Mokeke
  • 24 Sibusiso Masina

AWAY: Platinum Stars

Coach: Cavin Johnson
Formation: 4-3-1-2

  • 31 Mbongeni Mzimela
  • 5 Gift Sithole
  • 22 Luvolwethu Mpeta
  • 23 Sphiwe Mnguni
    81 mins - Michael Mabule
  • 25 Isaac Nhlapo
  • 2 Vuyo Mere
  • 12 Solomon Mathe
  • 14 Tintswalo Tshabalala
    90+2 mins - Tshirelatso Lesabane
  • 22 Robert Ngambi
  • 7 Benson Shilongo
    71 mins - Bongi Ntuli
  • 10 Ndumiso Mabena

Note: LIVEFYRE is CLOSING DOWN. Adobe have decided to close down the LiveFyre comments system from 9 March 2017. We advise that all users switch to using the new Disqus comment system as soon as possible to ensure a smooth transition.

Terms of use:

The comments posted do not reflect the views of KickOff.com. Users are reminded that no misuse of this comment facility will be tolerated. Any abusive, racist, inflammatory, defamatory, discriminatory comments or hate speech will be deleted and the user banned.

If legally obliged we will hand over your information under the Protection of Information Act.

Please report abusive posts to editor@kickoff.com.