0 - 0
(0 - 0)
Goble Park
23/04/2016 15:00
Referee: Robert Smith
  • Scored
  • Scored
  • Scored
  • Scored
  • Scored
5 - 4
on penalties
  • Scored
  • Scored
  • Scored
  • Scored
  • Missed

Related News

Related Club News

Nedbank Cup quarter-finals: Free State Stars vs Bidvest Wits

Posted: 23 April 2016 Time: 13:54

Free State Stars edged Bidvest Wits 5-4 on penalties in the Nedbank Cup quarter-finals following a goalless 120 minutes of football at Goble Park on Saturday.

Ayanda Nkosi netted the decisive kick after Moeketsi Sekola, Lucky Mohomi, Paulus Masehe and Davies Nkausu beat Wits goalkeeper Moeneeb Josephs from the spot.

Sifiso Hlanti missed his penalty for the visitors, unlike his vastly experienced teammates Daine Klate, Henrico Botes, Dillon Sheppard and Sibusiso Vilakazi.

Ea Lla Koto, who also knocked Wits out of the Telkom Knockout with a 1-0 scoreline in October, joined SuperSport United in the next round of the competition.

Matsatsantsa saw off Mpumalanga Black Aces with a come-from-behind 2-1 win in Atteridgeville last night.

Stars and the Students have struggled to score against each other this season, having played to a second goalless league draw at Bidvest Stadium last weekend.

On this occasion, the hosts came closest to breaking the deadlock when Bokang Thlone rattled the upright early into the second period.

At the other end, Buhle Mhkwanazi headed wide from close range for Gavin Hunt's side, who will now focus exclusively on their race for Absa Premiership honours with Mamelodi Sundowns.

Article by: Staff Reporter

HOME: Free State Stars

Coach: Giovanni Solinas
Formation: 3-5-2

  • 31 Johnny Mathole
  • 19 Justice Chabalala
  • 24 Bokang Thlone
  • 4 Makhehlene Makhaula
  • 5 Paulus Masehe
  • 8 Danny Venter
    72 mins - Moeketsi Sekola
  • 15 Lucky Mohomi
  • 15 Angelo Kerspuy
  • 20 Katlego C. Mashego
  • 28 Sello Japhta
    107 mins - Davies Nkausu
  • 17 Ayanda Nkosi

AWAY: Bidvest Wits

Coach: Gavin Hunt
Formation: 4-3-3

  • 16 Moeneeb Josephs
  • 2 Nazeer Allie
  • 4 Bongani Khumalo
  • 13 Sifiso Hlanti
  • 15 Buhle Mkhwanazi
  • 7 Daine Klate
  • 22 Jabulani Shongwe
  • 30 Ben Motshwari
    115 mins - Dillon Sheppard
  • 41 Phumlani Ntshangase
    59 mins - Wangu Gome
  • 23 Sibusiso Vilakazi
  • 28 James Keene
    86 mins - Henrico Botes

Note: LIVEFYRE is CLOSING DOWN. Adobe have decided to close down the LiveFyre comments system from 9 March 2017. We advise that all users switch to using the new Disqus comment system as soon as possible to ensure a smooth transition.

Terms of use:

The comments posted do not reflect the views of KickOff.com. Users are reminded that no misuse of this comment facility will be tolerated. Any abusive, racist, inflammatory, defamatory, discriminatory comments or hate speech will be deleted and the user banned.

If legally obliged we will hand over your information under the Protection of Information Act.

Please report abusive posts to editor@kickoff.com.