Related News

Related Club News

KICK OFF shines unwanted spotlight on Carling Cup penalty misses from Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates

Posted: 13 July 2017 Time: 11:00

The Carling Black Label Champion Cup has more often than not been decided by penalties, but we look at those kick-takers who have failed to impress from 12 yards out.

Of the six instalments of South Africa’s biggest pre-season clash between bitter rivals Kaizer Chiefs and Orlando Pirates, four have needed spot kicks to decide the title.

However, there have been those who arguably have thrown in the towel when it comes to taking penalties in the Carling Cup, and we shine an unwanted spotlight on those players’ heads.

Let the breaking news come to you! Sign up for KICK OFF SMS

Keegan Ritchie - Kaizer Chiefs
We start off with the worst of the worst as former Kaizer Chiefs defender Keegan Ritchie failed to convert any of his three penalties; the only repeat offender on this list. His misses include in the tournament’s debut clash as Orlando Pirates lifted the maiden trophy, while the left-back was again off target in the following year’s match, with his hat-trick of misses coming in the 2015 encounter.

Sameehg Doutie - Orlando Pirates
The maiden Carling Cup clash in 2011 saw no fewer than three misses in the penalty shootout, with Sameehg Doutie amongst the guilty parties, although fortunately for the winger, his Orlando Pirates team-mates were able to make up for his wayward effort as they still lifted the crown.

Itumeleng Khune - Kaizer Chiefs
Kaizer Chiefs captain Itumeleng Khune is more known for saving penalties than taking them, and it showed in the 2011 instalment as the goalkeeper stepped up to the spot for Amakhosi, although he was unable to beat his Orlando Pirates counterpart as the Glamour Boys ultimately fell flat.

Benni McCarthy - Orlando Pirates
South African legend Benni McCarthy played a big role in the 2012 instalment, with his second-half injury-time header rescuing a 1-1 draw for Orlando Pirates, although the striker was unable to repeat the feat in the penalty shootout as he saw his spot-kick saved. To his relief, the Buccaneers still won the trophy 5-4 on penalties.

Siyabonga Nkosi - Kaizer Chiefs
The 2012 clash proved one of the most flawed when it came to the shootout, with Kaizer Chiefs’ Siyabonga Nkosi also failing to find the target.

Lincoln Zvasiya - Kaizer Chiefs
Another Glamour Boy who failed to convert was Lincoln Zvasiya, who at least managed to hit the target although there was no getting past Senzo Meyiwa, who had come on as a second-half substitute for Orlando Pirates.

Ayanda Gcaba - Orlando Pirates
The Buccaneers were also guilty of missing on that day as Orlando Pirates defender Ayanda Gcaba placed his spot-kick wide of the mark, although with the trophy still heading to Pirates, he won’t have minded too much.

George Maluleka - Kaizer Chiefs
The 2014 Carling Cup proved an absolute nightmare for penalty taking, with George Maluleka one of three Kaizer Chiefs players to miss their kicks on the day as the trophy again headed to Orlando.

Tefu Mashamaite - Kaizer Chiefs
Inspirational defender Tefu Mashamaite was another to see his spot kick fail to find the back of the net in 2014.

Siboniso Gaxa - Kaizer Chiefs
And finally, for Amakhosi, Siboniso Gaxa was also wasteful from 12 yards out as he was unable to convert as Kaizer Chiefs eventually fell 6-5 on penalties.

Siyabonga Sangweni - Orlando Pirates
It wasn’t only Chiefs who struggled on the day, though, with Siyabonga Sangweni also unable to find the net as one of three Buccaneers to do so.

Maselaelo Seanego - Orlando Pirates
Another two misses were to follow after Sangweni’s, with Maselaelo Seanego also left with his head in his hands as a tense shootout turned on its head again.

Rooi Mahamutsa - Orlando Pirates
And finally, former Bucs defender Rooi Mahamutsa was the last of the penalty fumblers on the day, although taking the trophy home offered him and the team plenty of solace.

Patrick Phungwayo - Orlando Pirates
The 2015 clash was the last Carling Cup match to go to penalties, although that, too, was not without its misses, Patrick Phungwayo the guilty party for Orlando Pirates as he failed to convert.

Reneilwe Letsholonyane - Kaizer Chiefs
The penalty hoodoo that seems to have followed Kaizer Chiefs continued to make its presence known in the 2015 encounter as Reneilwe Letsholonyane was unable to maintain his usual composure as he saw his spot-kick saved as the title eventually again went to Pirates.

Get the latest Orlando Pirates news sent to your phone

Article by: Ryan Gordon
Terms of use:

The comments posted do not reflect the views of Users are reminded that no misuse of this comment facility will be tolerated. Any abusive, racist, inflammatory, defamatory, discriminatory comments or hate speech will be deleted and the user banned.

If legally obliged we will hand over your information under the Protection of Information Act.

Please report abusive posts to